Oops I did it again…, or, The Procrastinator returneth (another NaPoWriMo update)

NaPoWriMo2013As you may recall from my last NaPoWriMo post, I started off this month of writing a poem a day by writing one on the first day of the month, then writing the next six all on the same day, on April 7.

Well, things kind of went downhill after this. And by downhill I mean that when I woke up this morning, on April 19, my grand total of poems written this month was…still only seven. Yeah, oops, I know.

I think one of the things that keeps allowing me to fall so far behind with the poetry writing is the fact that, in comparison with other writing challenges (most notably NaNoWriMo in November when I write a 50 000 word novel along with hundreds of thousands of people all around the world), there isn’t much of a sense of urgency. You can’t rush poems. Sometimes you happen to write them quickly, because the images and words just happen to flow through your head perfectly, or at least good enough to scribble down, but most of the time you need to at least sit and ponder a while, think about how you are going to shape your poem, and relax yourself as you slowly piece it together. It shouldn’t be a stressful process, basically.

Oh, also, I’m a terrific procrastinator. That definitely has a lot to do with how I fell twelve poems/days behind schedule. Here are some of the things I like to do to waste time instead of writing poetry:

  • Baking unnecessarily large amounts of, well, baked goods. Even when you only live with one other person who often isn’t home.
  • Staring out of the window, not actually thinking about anything at all. Just staring at the clouds or something like that.
  • Driving to the same place several times because I keep forgetting the thing I went there for in the first place.
  • Playing stupid pointless games on Facebook (whoever got me addicted to Bejewelled again…you will pay!).
  • Making another coffee, as I’ve only had two this hour all day (honest).
  • Checking my phone even though it’s not on silent so I would know if I had anything to check.
  • Watching cartoons because I’M A GROWN UP AND I CAN DO WHAT I WANT!

I also have been doing many things worthy of my time, like cleaning my house, helping my sister move some of her stuff from one house to another, getting my brain scanned (no, really), and of course reading. But I am awfully good at procrastinating – seven years of university will do that to you.

Anyway, after that somewhat spectacular digression…back to my poetry writing problem.

So I’ve clawed back today and am now only four days behind, so I’m pretty happy with that on the whole. I will finish this challenge this month, no matter what it takes (which is mostly just procrastinating a little less). What is interesting me is the topics of some of my poems, which are flittering between aspects of my personal life, and some of the things going on in the world this last week or two. Sometimes the poetry I write is much more general and not time-specific, but I suspect these poems will evoke memories in me when I look back on them one day.

How are you all going with your various writing endeavours?

5 thoughts on “Oops I did it again…, or, The Procrastinator returneth (another NaPoWriMo update)

  1. I have thought long and hard about this and have come to conclusion that I’m a procrastinator because I ENJOY it!! I mean I’m lazy too but I really enjoy all the activities you’ve listed except for baking which is not my thing! I mean what’s not to love about staring at clouds with a cuppa by your side right?!

    I think I’m managing the challenge so far because I’ve chosen to do Haikus…but it’s getting tougher with time. Still this is the first challenge I’ve attempted in the Blogosphere and I’m thrilled 🙂

    Good Luck for the rest of NaPoWriMo!

    • Well this is also true – a lot of the things I listed are quite enjoyable on their own grounds, and probably necessary in their own little ways every now and then. 🙂
      Haikus are a lot of fun, but also harder than people think – especially if you’re attempting to write 30 of them. Sometimes I write several haikus in a chain, that sort of all connect together to show a scene in more detail than a single haiku can. I actually find these easier sometimes because you have a little more room to move around.
      You’re doing really well with the challenge, good luck with the last third of the month! 🙂

  2. Poetry is one of those things that really has to move me to write. It doesn’t come easily to me, so the poetry month challenge is not one I would venture to attempt. I do understand the whole procrastination thing. Time sure has a way of running away on us when we least expect it and distractions like watching clouds flit across the sky or, in my case, staring out the window to see if the snow is finally melting or not, can eat up a good chunk of the time we’re supposed to be writing (either prose or poetry, it really doesn’t matter!). Hope you are able to complete the challenge. 🙂

    • I know what you mean, and in some ways it’s a good thing if you have to be moved to write poetry – it often means, I suspect, that your poetry would be much more emotionally charged and contemplated. As where I find some of mine is very emotional, but other stuff is not so much, more wandering off on various thoughts, some serious and some silly.
      I’m glad you get the procrastination thing! I even procrastinate about going to bed sometimes – it’s like I’m a little kid who doesn’t want to sleep at bed time hahaha.
      Thank you, I should be able to complete the challenge this year without too much trouble! 🙂

  3. Pingback: NaPoWriMo completed with moments to spare | Wanton Creation

What do you think?

