NaPoWriMo completed with moments to spare

NaPoWriMo 2013Well, a bit over an hour to spare, but it feels like moments. Yes indeed, I have completed the challenge this year (making up for falling apart last April) and have written 30 poems in 30 days, so I can now add NaPoWriMo to the list of writing challenges I have conquered.

Except, 30 poems in 30 days is kind of lying. Not because I didn’t write 30 poems, but because I wrote all 30 of them in 6 days. April 1, 7, 19, 21, 28 and 30, to be precise. I updated you all about a week and a half ago on my huge catch up on this challenge, but then promptly failed to keep writing a poem a day again, and so have had to do a huge catch up on 7 poems tonight, and I already had plenty to do this evening.

Anyway, the point is, I have done it! And though I’ve written a lot of pretty bad poetry, there are a few okay(ish) poems in this lot. I might share some of them, I might not – I haven’t quite decided and I need to look back over it all with a fresh mind anyway, as it is late at night and I desperately need sleep.

Anyway, how has everybody else completing writing challenges this month gone? Are you on track to finish? If so, good luck!

6 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo completed with moments to spare

  1. Yay! You managed to complete the challenge! Despite the procrastination, you completed them all, which is more than I can say for my focus, the past few months! Congratulations! 🙂

    • Thank you! It’s odd, but when I’m procrastinating I still have a sense of control, because I’m choosing to put it off. It’s when circumstances beyond my control take over that I suddenly struggle with such challenges. Somehow I knew this time despite such severe procrastination that I would force the poems out of me at the last minute like that (writing seven in the last couple of hours was a bit rough though). Interestingly, one of my poems was about what I was going through in my head as I raced to finish hahaha 😛

  2. Well done – but be honest were you really satisfied with what you wrote? I don’t know how you do it to be honest. If I sit down and think okay I am going to write a poem my brain is suddenly filled with sand. For me it’s always when I’m doing something else. In fact when I had to write one for my daughter’s wedding the poor grass was mowed to within an inch of it’s life as that was where I met my Muse at that time. Anyway again – well done. What’s the next challenge.?

    • Thank you! I’m satisfied with some of the poems I wrote, but definitely only a few. But I sort of expected that, and the fact I produced anything decent at all was good enough for me. Forcing yourself to write poetry at that speed is never going to produce 30 great poems no matter how good a poet you are (and I don’t consider myself anything great at poetry, really, I just enjoy it and know a lot about poetic forms). Interestingly one of my stronger poems was in the middle of writing the final seven on the last night, when it was stressing me because I was struggling to come up with anything, and suddenly the desperation and anger with myself seeped out onto the page and reinvigorated me, which was a very odd cathartic moment.
      The next challenge…hmmm I don’t know to be honest. I have a lot going on that I think I need to focus on, and am challenging myself in other ways (including losing 15-20 kilos in 8 weeks so I can run a 12km fun run in under an hour…yeah I know I’m a lunatic). The next writing challenge might well be my 5th NaNoWriMo in November. Can’t believe I’ll be writing my fifth different novel draft. Might take a break from NaNoWriMo after this year. 😛

What do you think?

