I’m back! And with big news!

So, my month long hiatus turned into an almost two month long hiatus! But, I have a very good reason, and some quite exciting news!

As many of you know, I spent the first two weeks of July in Sweden, which took nearly a day and a half and three plane trips just to get there from Australia.Β But there’s a bit more to this trip than I let on. It wasn’t just a random holiday, or a trip to see friends or whatever, but it was indeed (as some of you figured out, and some of you just knew anyway) a trip to see my girlfriend in her home town. And in fact, to tell this story properly, we need to rewind a little.

It was early 2012, and I had only been blogging for a couple of weeks when I met this beautiful Swedish girl, who intrigued me on her own blog. We spoke a little bit in comments, but very quickly this evolved to emails, and when we found ourselves still increasingly interested in one another, we began texting, and eventually worked our way up towards even video calls. After being cynical of internet romances for all my adult life, I found myself in love with someone I had not yet met in real life, which was a very surreal experience. Still, we continued on, and late last year met in England (yep, that’s what that trip was really about as well), and things went better than we could have ever expected. We returned to our homes but with a determination and renewed energy to keep chasing after this relationship. Then earlier this month I visited her home town in Sweden, met her family and friends, and I knew almost immediately that I had to move there and live with her. This was only further cemented when we had to say our goodbyes at the airport again, and we both found it so much more painful to let go this second time, and so I promised her that this was it, and that next time I come to see her, I’m coming for good.

So, the big news I have is exactly that! At that start of 2014, I’ll be moving permanently to Sweden, and all for love *cue dramatic sigh from the audience*. It is incredibly exciting, and something I could never have foreseen a couple of years ago, but I really love this girl, and I really fell in love with the country while I was there, so now is the time to do it. I will miss my family and friends here in Australia, of course, but we will make return visits as much as possible. Sometimes you just have to make impossible choices, and this was one of those.

In the meantime, this does have some ramifications for my blog. I am going to keep blogging as much as I can, but the next few months are going to be hectic as I try and pack up my life and move it across the world, while trying to get my health back in order and deal with the stresses of teaching full time. And though I really shouldn’t, I probably will even do NaNoWriMo in November again because I have a really good idea for once! So my blogging will probably be erratic – at times I might write two or three times a week, but I might go quiet every now and then and only blog once a week when everything gets too busy. I will aim to post at least once a week to keep some kind of consistency, but we’ll see how I go.

Anyway, I hope you are all keeping well, I have missed reading everyone’s blogs, and I will slowly find the time to sit down and flick through what you have all written over the last couple of months!

45 thoughts on “I’m back! And with big news!

  1. Okay, so, I saw all your other comments, but this post deserves the most attention right now, so let’s just forget about those for about five minutes. Okay? Okay.

    #1: What?!
    #2: WHAT?!
    #3: This is SO GREAT. It sounds like something out of a book. I can’t stop grinning like a certain Cat we all know. EEK. πŸ˜€
    #4: Curse you, you’re making me sound like such a twelve year old.
    #5: This should have come first actually. I think congratulations are in order. Throw yourself a party on my behalf. πŸ™‚

    P.S. Sweden? Pictures?

    • Hahaha, this is the best comment ever! I just found myself smiling as I read this hahaha. But I’m glad, because yeah, it has been a crazy thing to keep quiet for the last year and a half, and to finally be able to share this with everyone feels amazing. So I’m glad that it made you grin, haha, and you’re right – it is like something out of a book or a movie! I couldn’t have written a love story this sweet if I tried! πŸ˜›

      Oh, and yes, there’s lots of pictures. I’ll do that in a separate post. I just figured I needed to make an appearance on my blog first. I’ll do a picture post later this week, bug me if I don’t πŸ™‚

      Thank you for your kind words and excitement πŸ™‚

        • Hahahaha, yeah, it’s been a long time coming this one. πŸ˜› Yeah, I might write this story one day. When I’m living over there, and my life is more calm. Obviously there’s a lot more to the story than the few hundred words in this post – a single blog post was never going to do the tale justice! It’s already a novel’s worth of story. Maybe I’ll write a memoir about it! Haha!

    • Thank you! I think we will have an amazing life, and one heck of a story to tell the grandkids one day hahaha!
      And thanks for the support with the blog, it means a lot! I’m always amazed when I do disappear that when I come back people are still willing to listen! πŸ™‚

  2. How wonderful! And Exciting! And Adventurous! (Lots of dramatic sighs here). I’m so happy for you. :D.

    I’ve been on hiatus for much longer than you have. It was your news that made me drop by.

    I met my husband on the internet, too. It was kind of a writing site. We kept chatting and emailing on the side. It started out as long distance, then we finally lived in the same city. This year will be our 15th anniversary. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much, that means a lot to us both (she’s read through a lot of these comments now too) πŸ˜€
      I think quite a few of us have gone quiet on the blogs lately, for one reason or another. But it’s nice to know that we’re all still here, and will be when you return! πŸ™‚
      Wow, that is so cool, I don’t think I realised you met your partner online as well! 15 years ago too…that must have been dial-up internet? No video calls back then I’d imagine. That is amazing, and it always inspires me to hear of other people who have met online and made it work! What an amazing world we live in, huh? πŸ™‚

      • Yes! Someone else who remembers dial up internet. πŸ™‚ Hahaha!

        I’m glad you continuously blog. Even though I’ve been awfully quiet on my own blog, I do enjoy seeing the activity of my other blog-pals. πŸ˜€

        • Oh yeah, I remember the beginnings of household internet all too well! I remember having an email address and only knowing two other people who had the internet who I could email, hahaha.
          It’s taken me a while to get my pace back up on my blog, but I am determined to keep it up. I have noticed a lot of my fellow bloggers have quietened off, and some have dropped off completely. But it is nice to stay in contact with everyone, which is part of what is keeping me tinkering away at my own blog. And I’m sure plenty of people will come back and read yours when you return to your own! πŸ™‚

  3. Congrats to both of you! πŸ™‚ This sounds so wonderful! And while you’re staying in Sweden, make sure to visit Finland as well. You’ll be practically like my neighbor. πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! And yes, I will definitely have to visit the many many surrounding countries once I’m there (living in Australia most of my life, the idea of driving to another country is bizarre…when we went across the bridge to Copenhagen for a day when I was there in Sweden it kind of blew my mind). I have wanted to visit Finland for a while, one of my friends is from there (well actually he was born in Gothenburg in Sweden but while his family were travelling, his family are Finnish and he grew up for a bit in Finland before moving to Australia). I did find myself in Helsinki, but only the airport and only for a couple of hours each way. πŸ˜›

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€ And yes, it’s definitely changed my perspective on long distance relationships, and that whole notion that love can conquer all – it really can, sometimes! πŸ™‚

  4. My fellow blogging Coastie is leaving!!! I had suspected as much from a couple of tweets of yours recently. But this is all very exciting. How amazing that you are moving all the way to the other side of the world for love. But when it’s right, it’s right.
    What a lovely story. This is what my face looked like while I was reading it http://alltheragefaces.com/face/happy-cuteness-overload (gosh I hope that link works!). It’s like a movie!!! Ok, I’ll stop carrying on now. I sound like such a girl…

    • I know! You’re going to have to hold the fort now! But yes, my tweets did kind of give it away. I did realise that some of my blog followers would have read it on my twitter, but oh well hahaha.
      It’s true, though it seems huge to make such a tremendous life change, when it’s right, it’s right. And what this trip to Sweden made clear was just that – we just want to be together more than anything else, and I’ve never felt more certain I’m doing the right thing than about this, which is saying a lot. We want and need to be together, so I’m just making it happen and it’s going to be amazing.
      Hahha that link worked, and made me laugh! I’m glad you liked the story, it seems a lot of other people have enjoyed it too – it’s been so nice to share it with everyone, especially as it’s been such a long time coming. Now I’ve just gotta make it all happen! πŸ˜›

  5. Congratulations, that is fantastic! πŸ˜€
    I got goosebumps as I was reading this. I wish you all the luck with everything; and in getting yourself packed and moved – it’s a pain when it’s just moving to the next town, so I can’t even imagine what you’ll have to deal with.

    I look forward to your posts when you’re able to post them πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! πŸ˜€
      Hahaha I love the reactions people are having to this story, I keep forgetting how enormous this all really is, because it’s been going on so long for us two. But for all of you it’s just like “whoa, what in the world?!” But yes, you’re right, moving is going to be insane. This’ll be my 10th residence I’m moving to, across 7 different towns and now 3 countries. After this I’d like to just stop moving for a while, it’s really exhausting. The first thing for me though is sorting out my finances and paperwork – packing can wait a few months. But it’s all very exciting! πŸ™‚
      Thank you again!

  6. I’m so happy for you! That is such an amazing story πŸ™‚ Moving to Sweden for love?! I’m swooning over here. I wish you good health, good luck with all of the arrangements, and of course a happy ever after!

    • Thank you! Haha I guess you knew about the overseas girlfriend part but didn’t know the whole story huh? But yep, it’s very exciting, and an enormous change – I’m essentially moving to a country that is the opposite of Australia hahaha. But it’ll be worth it, of course. πŸ™‚
      Thank you for all the well wishes! πŸ˜€

  7. Pingback: Blogaversary! | My thought exactly...!

  8. Pingback: Sweden Trip Photos | Wanton Creation

  9. VΓ€lkommen till Sverige! (Wich means “welcome to Sweden”)

    I’m looking forward to read your blogposts about meeting all things that is normal for Swedes but strange for everyone else.

    • Tack! (I hope I spelled this right – I know if you change a letter it changes from ‘thanks’ to ‘roof’ if I remember correctly…my Svenska is very basic still πŸ˜› ).
      I’ve been learning about a lot of the things that are typically Swedish, and many of these I experienced while there last month. So far though I love a lot of them. I think once I move there in January there will definitely be a lot more posts about me adapting to the Swedish way of life. πŸ™‚

  10. That is fabulously exciting news! I am so happy for you! One word of advice: although love will keep you warm, for the most part, make sure you wear lots of layers for those cold northern nights when you’re out in the elements! lol

    As for your blogging, we readers understand and wish you all the best. We’ll be here when you feel ‘the call of the blog’. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! And hahaha, that is good advice! She is parting similar advice to me, as is my family. I still think that my Britishness will come through, and I’ll prefer the cold climate there to the heat of Australia, but time will tell.
      I’m definitely going to try and blog as much as possible. Right now I have half a dozen blog posts whirling about in my head. But I also have severe headaches whirling about in there so it does make it hard! πŸ˜›
      Thank you for your continuing support, it means a lot! πŸ™‚

  11. you can teach me Swedish then.. well my last boyfriend tried, so maybe not.
    But I KNEW it would work out. At least I had a dream about it waaay back when we used to talk a lot πŸ˜€ anyway, internet is a lovely thing indeed πŸ™‚ so much love to find haha
    wish you all the best πŸ™‚

    • Hahaha, I need to get my head around Swedish first. But it’s a lovely language, and I’m excited to learn a language that is a little different to the one most Aussies learn (usually most go for Spanish, Italian, French, or they go for Chinese or Japanese).
      Thank you, and yes, it is a lovely thing! I’ve found over the last year or two I keep reading similar stories of people meeting online through various circumstances and ending up together. But I am, and we are, both very happy. πŸ˜€

  12. Awesome, congrats! I met my boyfriend online and moved across the country to be with him. Not quite as far as you’re moving, but it was still a pretty big deal. All the packing and goodbyes and tying up loose ends was overwhelming and a little stressful, but totally, extremely, 100% worth it! I’m excited for your future posts about Swedish adventures πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! That is awesome to hear that from someone who has been through the same, just to hear that it is worth all the stress and sadness of moving everything and leaving everyone! It’s amazing how many similar stories I keep hearing, but it does help me keep my chin up when I feel overwhelmed by it all at times! It’s all very exciting! πŸ™‚

  13. That is very exciting! I’m happy that when you met her it got better!
    All of the well-wishes from me. I hope it is an excellent adventure and that you guys have all of the happiness together πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much! We’ll try not to have all of the happiness as we have to leave some happiness for other people I guess, don’t wanna be greedy or anything! πŸ˜› But yes, I think it will be amazing once I’m over there! So much craziness over the next few months though, though mostly now it’s just saving money, moving stuff, and job hunting. The whole getting into the country legally thing is pretty much sorted! πŸ˜€

  14. Pingback: One Way Ticket To Sweden | Wanton Creation

What do you think?

