Sweden Trip Photos

So by now you all know the truth of my Sweden trip, why I really went, and the big news that I’m moving there permanently at the start of next year (if you don’t, go back and read this post here to find out why). So I figured I should show you some photos from that trip. These are mostly from around the town I will be moving to, and there will be another post or two of photos from this holiday coming up later on. Anyway, enjoy!

This is as you enter town. I love how cute some of these houses look - it's a style you just don't really get in Australia.

This is as you enter town. I love how cute some of these houses look – it’s a style you just don’t really get in Australia.

This cafe was by far one of my favourite places, and we visited it no less than four times in the space of less than 2 weeks (in reality, about 9 days as we were out of town for a few days too). Cute and cosy inside, with a nice courtyard section too.

This cafe was by far one of my favourite places, and we visited it no less than four times in the space of less than 2 weeks (in reality, about 9 days as we were out of town for a few days too). Cute and cosy inside, with a nice courtyard section too.

The old church as you get into town. It's a few hundred years old, and very pretty inside.

The old church as you get into town. It’s a few hundred years old, and very pretty inside.

Heading more towards the centre of town. For some reason I don't have many good photos of the town square, but I suppose it was busy the whole time I was there.

Heading more towards the centre of town. For some reason I don’t have many good photos of the town square, but I suppose it was busy the whole time I was there.

This was part of the reason why the town square was quite busy. And the town in general, actually. Although I must confess, the whole place was much bigger than I had first anticipated, much to my pleasant surprise.

This was part of the reason why the town square was quite busy. And the town in general, actually. Although I must confess, the whole place was much bigger than I had first anticipated, much to my pleasant surprise.

The River Nissan, which runs for about 200km and through the town. There's an awesome pub which sits on the river called Tillsammans (I probably spelled it wrong) which we went to often, and that building on the left there is the beautiful library! Three stories tall, and with an amazing view!

The River Nissan, which runs for about 200km and through the town. There’s an awesome pub which sits on the river called Tillsammans (I probably spelled it wrong) which we went to often, and that building on the left there is the beautiful library! Three stories tall, and with an amazing view!

The Castle! It's quite small, but pretty cool all the same, a castle is a castle as far as I'm concerned!

The Castle! It’s quite small, but pretty cool all the same, a castle is a castle as far as I’m concerned!

A diagram showing the fortifications around the town back when the area was actually Danish, not Swedish, and explaining the ports and gateways into the town.

A diagram showing the fortifications around the town back when the area was actually Danish, not Swedish, and explaining the ports and gateways into the town.

Zoomed in on the English translation from the previous picture.

Zoomed in on the English translation from the previous picture.

The remains of one of the old gates into the town, back from when it was fortified. I like that this is still standing somewhat.

The remains of one of the old gates into the town, back from when it was fortified. I like that this is still standing.

A little out of town, this is a bronze age burial mound. More information to follow on the next picture.

A little out of town, this is a Bronze Age burial mound. More information to follow on the next picture.

From a sign at the bottom of the mound.

From a sign at the bottom of the mound.

On the way to the beach, I love that the sand cuts a path through all the trees (though there were several ways to get to the beach).

On the way to the beach, I love that the sand cuts a path through all the trees (though there were several ways to get to the beach).

The beach itself. I am very happy to find that I am moving to a part of Sweden with big sandy beaches (even if they might freeze over half the year) - it has been a part of my life for too long here in Australia. The weather was beautiful this day too - it was our last full day together, and there was definitely magic in the air.

The beach itself. I am very happy to find that I am moving to a part of Sweden with big sandy beaches (even if they might freeze over half the year) – it has been a part of my life for too long here in Australia. The weather was beautiful this day too – it was our last full day together, and there was definitely magic in the air.

Finally, a picture of us together! The happy couple! What more can I say? This is the girl I'm going to move half way around the world for, and I am so excited about it! Some of you might recognise her - I have linked to her blog in the past, back when she used to post regularly, and she does comment on mine from time to time!

Finally, a picture of us together! The happy couple! What more can I say? This is the girl I’m going to move half way around the world for, and I am so excited about it! Some of you might recognise her – I have linked to her blog in the past, back when she used to post regularly, and she does comment on mine from time to time!

That’s it for now! I hope you enjoyed the photos, and thank you to all of you who commented on my last post – you are all so supportive, and such wonderful, lovely and encouraging people! From both Linnéa and I, thank you, it means the world to us!

18 thoughts on “Sweden Trip Photos

    • She is incredibly cute and pretty, and I am incredibly lucky and happy to have her in my life! We are very happy indeed, and are both just counting down now until we can be together all the time!
      Thank you! 🙂

  1. I was in Stockholm for a few days last summer and loved it. And congrats on the move. Good luck with everything and you two look happy!

    • Ahhh I’ll have to visit Stockholm once I’m settled in Sweden. I’m moving to the other side of the country, a little south of Gothenburg, so quite far from Stockholm, but of course I definitely want to travel around the country.
      Thank you, we are very happy, and I will need all the luck I can get hahaha! 🙂

    • Oh that is cool that your grandfather was born in Denmark! I would love to look into the history of the place more, especially how it passed from Danish to Swedish territory (I know a little of the story). She is adorable, I agree, and I’ve adored her for a long time now, so it’s great to finally share this on the blog! Thank you so much, I’m glad you think we make a cute couple! 😀
      Oh, and as a point of interest, her name is a type of flower. 🙂

  2. Oh, wow. I’m looking forward to hearing more stories about what it’s like to live there and the adventures that both of you have.

    And I’d agree that you make a cute couple. And is it just me, or does Linnea remind me of British actress Bonnie Wright when Bonnie was younger? 😉 (Ginny Weasley in the Harry Potter movies)

    • I’m very excited to live there and learn more about the place – it was such a whirlwind tour really, only spending a couple of weeks there. I’ll definitely be posting a lot of the stories of things we get up to next year, once I’m settled.
      I can see the resemblance there as well. I had never thought about it until you mentioned it, but yeah I can see how you’re seeing that! 🙂

    • Thank you! The town really was charming, more than I could have ever hoped for, which is nice to know now I am officially planning on moving there!
      And yep, we’re very happy! We’ll be happier once we’re back in each other’s arms! 🙂

  3. I hope you’ll keep us updated on your new adventures in Sweden, Matt. One of my not-so-secret ambitions is to move somewhere (maybe a foreign country).

    You and your gal make a lovely couple. Just like Eagle-Eyed Editor said, I am reminded of the actress who played Ginny Weasley when I saw the picture of you together. Funnily enough, I was wondering if I would ever see a picture of both of you together when I started reading this blog post. At the end of it, there was your picture! I was rewarded. 🙂

    • Yep, I’ll definitely keep everyone updated on my adventures! Frankly, it’ll give me something exciting to talk about other than books and music, which, although I love writing about, can be hard to talk about several times a week each week. It’ll be strange for me, living in the third country I’ve lived in during my life, although this time it is really different as their native language is not my own, so this will be a much more dramatic change, I suppose. But it’ll be fun. And you should definitely move somewhere one day – I think it’s so exciting to do this! 😀
      Thank you, I’m glad you think we make a nice couple (and she herself noticed the similarity after that comment hahaha). There’ll be lots more pictures of us together I am sure once I am living over there! 🙂

What do you think?

