Photos From An Afternoon in Copenhagen

While I was in Sweden last month, we popped over to Copenhagen in Denmark for a quick afternoon, as one does in Europe (this just blows my mind, being an Australian). So here are some photos from that day. This time I haven’t written about them because that day was such a whirlwind I didn’t have time to soak in most of where I was or what I was looking at, beyond anything you yourselves could figure out by looking at these pictures! So hopefully they at least look nice. A number were taken from a boat tour, which you’ll probably notice. Anyway, enjoy!

P1000737 P1000739 P1000740 P1000749 P1000752 P1000754 P1000764 P1000767 P1000780 P1000788 P1000797 P1000803 P1000819 P1000826 P1000838 P1000845 P1000849 P1000873 P1000881 P1000898 P1000906 P1000907 P1000908 P1000913

 

Have you ever been to Copenhagen? What was your experience of this magical city?

14 thoughts on “Photos From An Afternoon in Copenhagen

  1. Great pictures, I’ve never been but it’s on my list. I agree that one of the great things about living in Europe is the ease of flitting from one country to another. At times in the past we have done it and not even noticed that we were in another country, particularly between France and Germany, Switzerland and Italy etc. I love the sand sculpture and the fruit bar that offers to Smuggle your butts in!! πŸ™‚

  2. I was there last summer and loved it. And I’m still getting used to being close to so many countries. I love it but coming from the States it is weird.

    • Yeah, I remember seeing a photo from there on your blog! I imagine it’d take a long time to get used to being close to a lot of countries for both of us! If I leave my current country, in any direction, I’m in the sea hahaha. πŸ˜› Still, I’m quite excited about being a European…ooh I even like just saying that!

  3. Wonderful photos! A friend went to the Lego Museum and thought it was pretty awesome. The sculptures were all fascinating as was the contrast of the new architecture with the old. I like that it has canals along which one can travel and see the sights. πŸ™‚

    One day, I want to go to Europe and soak in the history, but it’s amazing to think how close the different countries really are! Like you, it’s hard for me to imagine how easy it is to get from one country to another in a short span of time. In Canada, it takes more than a week to drive from one coast to the other! My province alone is more than twice the size of great Britain and Ireland combined and both Sweden & Denmark could fit inside with plenty of room to spare! Australia & New Zealand could fit inside Canada with lots of wiggle room. I hope you have lots of fun exploring when you finally move to Sweden. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I wanted to go inside the Lego Museum, but we were in the city for such a short amount of time, literally a few hours in total. Next time, though (at least I can confidently say there will be a next time). The sculptures were cool – we seemed to go at a good time, with the sculpture competition, a jazz festival running all through the town, all sorts of cool things going on. The architecture is beautiful and so well looked after – the city itself is tremendously clean, and even the public toilets are permanently staffed with cleaners. They clearly take pride in the image they give off to tourists. I couldn’t recommend the place enough. The canals are great too – the boat tour we went on was so cheap, about the equivalent of $10 for an hour (our dollar is about the same as yours…I think it was 50 Danish Krone for an hour, something like that).
      Canada does boggle my mind in that respect – it’s one of the few countries in the world bigger than my country, and that is saying something. Most countries in the world you could just stick out in our desert with plenty of room to spare hahahaha. But yes, I will have a lot of fun exploring Europe once I’m over there, and perhaps once it thaws out a little πŸ˜‰

    • Haha yeah I laughed so hard at that sign, I think passers by thought I was out of my mind probably. It was too good not to get a photo of though!
      Yes, I didn’t even realise the mermaid was there until we were looking at it, it was quite amazing. Wish we could have seen it from the other side, but it was a very rushed and slightly surreal day. Next time I go to Copenhagen I’d like to spend a full weekend or maybe even a few days there. And then I’ll write up a blog post where I actually know what I’m talking about hahaha. πŸ˜›

  4. Great pictures. You look like you had a fun time.

    One picture in particular caught my eye. It was the store window that said “Be Yourself. Everyone else is taken.” I saw that same quote when I was in Hawaii a few weeks ago on vacation. It was on a t-shirt (which I almost bought.) I had never heard it said quite that way before, and I really liked it. It’s on a post-it in my office now.

    • Thank you, it was a great day! πŸ™‚
      I loved that window. I’ve seen that quote a few times, but I just had to take a photo, as it makes me smile every time I see it. I like that you have it on a post-it in your office – it’s a good quote to remind yourself of regularly! πŸ™‚

  5. The photos remind me so much of Germany–the overlay of modern upon the ancient. The continual blending and readjusting of new and old is what is fascinating about Europe. Great montage!

    • Yeah, I loved that aspect of it. I love that the history is mixed in with everything in such a way you cannot escape it. It’s just so beautiful, and definitely makes me excited to explore the rest of Europe. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

