Phase one of Operation: Move to Sweden complete

332px-British_Passport.svgAnd in record time!

Phase one consisted entirely of me getting my British passport. Luckily, being born in England, I have had for most of my life dual citizenship in both England and Australia. But my citizenship in England, and thus the European Union, is most important as it’s the key for me to move to Sweden without having to worry about Visas or any of that kind of stuff.

I had been told by many people that to get your British Passport in Australia took 2-3 months. When I went for the interview for the passport, they said it would take about 6 weeks. Anyway, 12 days later, my passport arrived, which seems somewhat impossible. During those 12 days were 2 weekends, so in 6 days my documents and application arrived there, they must have processed it and mailed it back to Australia that very day (the dates on my passport indicate as much) and it arrived 6 days later. I’m sure my Australian passport wasn’t much faster than that!

So with that part of the process down, I now don’t have to think about renewing either of my two passports until I’m in my mid-to-late 30s (a scary thought indeed), as they last 10 years each, so now it’s time to apply for the Right of Residence to live in Sweden, which I have the right to do as a member of the European Union! Once that is processed, I apply for a Swedish ID number, and then…well, then I get a job, a place to live, and I move over there. Kind of crazy, really.

So there’s still lots to do (such as learn the language, ahhh), but the passport coming 2 months quicker than I planned has definitely helped tremendously. And it’s definitely feeling a lot more real now – I love that I could just go live in Britain now, no questions asked, for as long as I want. Now to just add Sweden to that list, and it’ll really feel real.

And yes, the girlfriend and I are counting down the months to being reunited at long last!

Have any of you ever immigrated? If so, for what reasons? How was your experience of it?

12 thoughts on “Phase one of Operation: Move to Sweden complete

  1. Well I should think that is a great indicator of the move – and for once (and only once) well done the British Consulate (ooh you have no idea how it hurts me to say that) we lived for many years in the Middle East as expats and the one thing you could rely on the Consulates there for was total disinterest. We now live part of the time in France and recently I had my handbag stolen along with my passport and I was literally stranded here waiting for a replacement – well over six weeks and to add insult to injury every time we called the Consulate in Paris we had to pay more than the cost of a premium rate call and this was for a simple replacement and we had a letter from the police etc. etc.

    • Wow, that is shocking to hear how bad they were with your case when your passport was stolen. I wonder if it was only quick for me because it went through Australia – which makes absolutely no sense, but I have spoken to somebody else who got their British passport while in Australia and they said it was super quick too. But yeah, you’d think for a replacement, and with a police letter and everything, they’d just get it done asap and mail it out! That’s bizarre.
      And yes, you’re right – I think it’s a good sign for the move overall, that things are coming along quickly. I’ve also, since writing this post, realised I’m an idiot and I don’t apply for the Right of Residence until I’m living in Sweden, so next on the agenda is actually looking for a job over there! :p

  2. Well, I guess we’re switching places huh? 😛 2 friends and I are actually planning on going over to OZ for a longer time next year (like 3 years or so… studying if they’ll accept our degree), and I really hope it’ll work out. Oh I am so excited, just like you 😉
    so best of luck with the rest of your move 🙂 and welcome to cold grey Europe 😛

    • Oh okay, that’s pretty exciting! Start saving your pennies now though, hahaha, as I think it’s quite expensive to study in Australia. Some of my uni friends were over from Europe – one of my friends during my teaching degree was out here from Germany, and had been for a few years (she has since moved back there though, so I’ll finally be able to visit her when I’m over there). I hope it all works out for you though, you have been wanting to come back here for so long, haven’t you? 🙂
      And hey, I’ve been to Europe twice this past year, and both times it was warm and sunny. I’m beginning to think you lot are a bunch of liars about the weather hahahah. Either that or the sun just follows me around, I can work with either explanation. 😛

      • I am saving up money now, as I’m gaining double the money I did in my apprenticeship, it’ll be a lot easier now though 😉 but yes, we have to look into it for real now. As usual they all depend on me instead of looking around for themselves.
        Haha, oh well, wait for winter. We can talk about it again then. But you’re right, this summer has been crazy hot and sunny. So beautiful 🙂 but maybe we’re just a BUNCH of liars here in Europe haha… I am really curious how you’ll enjoy it though. Keep in touch 🙂

        • Bahaha, at least if you’re the one looking into it, you’re going to have a considerably amount of control in the whole process, right? 😉
          It’s funny that you guys have been all like “it’s such a hot summer” blah blah. Meanwhile, yesterday, second last day of winter, we reached 29 degrees here hahaha. This summer coming up is going to be insane if we’re already about to break into the 30s. Every day for the next week is forecast mid to high 20s, which is lovely but really feels like late spring, not late winter.
          Anway, yeah, I’m sure I’ll love Europe and I know you’ll love Australia because you already do! 😀

  3. That is a surprisingly short time to receive your British passport and, yes, it does seem that providence is smiling down on you! Best of luck finding a job there although, as a teacher, I doubt you’ll have much difficulty. And, if you really do bring the sunshine with you, I’m sure Sweden will appreciate it – especially in the winter! 🙂

    • Yeah, I think the language issue will be my biggest challenge in the job market, so I need to take that much more seriously and find a way to learn Swedish, and fast. But otherwise, it does all seem to be coming together rather nicely! 🙂

  4. Soon you’ll be here and I cannot wait! You really are the piece that’s been missing from me (and yes, I felt the need to gush about this on your blog even though I spoke to you just a few minutes ago heheh) ❤

What do you think?

