International Talk Like A Pirate Day!

Pirate-skullAhoy there me hearties, it be that time o’ year again that people all ’round the world speak in the tongue of the pirates, arrr!

September 19 is International Talk Like A Pirate Day, and what started as a small joke online over ten years ago has since turned into a huge international phenomenon. At work today, myself and several colleagues dressed up as pirates (I must confess, they went to a lot more effort than I and I was really quite impressed) and went around spouting out pirate talk to anybody who would listen. I remember over 10 years ago doing the same thing, only then I was the student, not the teacher, but it is funny how I still find myself joining in on these shenanigans.

It also made the news here in Australia, particularly on the breakfast shows on both the radio and television, so it’s nice to see the word spreading. If you don’t believe me that it’s a real thing, check out the website here. This website has everything you need, from information about the day itself, advice on speaking like a pirate, as well as some games and things like that.

There are other things you can do too. If you’re on Facebook, there is an English Pirate language that is well worth switching to as it might extend your pirate vocabulary (mine has been set to pirate talk for several years now, I forget what the proper Facebook terminology is). You can check out this list of the most terrifying pirates in history. And you can listen to a pirate themed music album called “Like A Cannonball To The Ocean Floor…” by the (now broken-up) band Sounds Like Chicken, which I reviewed here.

Whatever you do, make sure you talk in pirate to someone today, and help spread the news about a day that the whole world can have a bit of fun together. Or else ye be walking the plank…

2 thoughts on “International Talk Like A Pirate Day!

  1. Aaar, since I don’t want to be walkin’ the plank, I best begin talkin’ like a pirate! lol

    I have a friend who enjoys this day every year and her whole family joins in the fun. I’ll definitely have to check out those sites you mentioned and I’ll share your post of FB. 🙂

What do you think?

