One Way Ticket To Sweden

australia to swedenSo it’s official! Or rather, it’s more official than it already was. I mean, I was already planning to move from Australia to Sweden as many of you know (I explained it back in this post), but tonight I finally bought my plane ticket.

I bought a one way freaking plane ticket to the other side of the world! Ahhhh!

So Australia will be rid of me on Thursday, January 16, 2014, at around about lunchtime. And on Friday morning Swedish time, I will land in my new home country.

I am incredibly excited. The prospect of moving anywhere is always exciting (over my life so far I have already lived in 10 different houses across about 7 different areas in 2 different countries (remembering I am British born) – I am a bit nomadic I suppose), but moving to another country all on my own is both exhilarating and terrifying. Most importantly, I will be reunited with my partner of nearly 2 years – it’s our 2 year anniversary the day I land there (so her present is me, ta-daah) – but this time we won’t have to separate again. This time I’m staying with her. And that thought makes me ridiculously happy.

I am of course very sad to be leaving my life in Australia. I have a lot of beautiful and amazing friends here, not to mention my parents and my sisters. And the country itself, despite all my moaning about the heat and various other things, is a beautiful place to have lived. But I will return to visit, when possible, the place and the people who have had the biggest influence on who I am today.Β 

It’s funny doing something like this. I actually gasped out loud when I clicked the button which processed my payment for the plane ticket and finalised the whole moment. I feel almost reckless in some ways, yet it feels like the most grown up thing I have ever done – much more so than moving out of home, paying off my car, starting a career in teaching, watching cartoons still because I can and you can’t stop me. I guess it feels grown up because it is such a massive change to my life, and one that I have chosen to make. One that not that long ago I would have never imagined making, due to fear if nothing else. But here I am, counting down the remaining 95 days.

So this is where I’m at right now. My head is spinning, but I am so immensely happy and excited. I hope you’re ready for me, Sweden!

24 thoughts on “One Way Ticket To Sweden

  1. I smiled the whole time reading this post! I can totally feel your excitement! I’m so happy for you and the new life you’re gonna be having, which is sort of weird because I don’t really know you at all. πŸ™‚ Internet is weird that way I guess. It makes me feel happy for people I’ve never met.

    • The internet is a funny place like that, isn’t it? But thank you, it’s lovely the great reaction and support I have had from people about both this latest update in my impending new life and just generally with this whole moving to Sweden for love thing I’m doing! πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on getting your plane ticket! That sounds like an absolutely perfect anniversary present — starting the next phase of your lives together. My boyfriend and I recently moved in together after doing long distance for over a year, and it is the best thing ever. I hope the days until Jan 16 fly by for you!

    • I remember you mentioning you guys moving in together. It must be such a mixed feeling of excitement and relief – I know that’s what I’ll be feeling when the time finally comes!
      Thank you, I hope the days fly by too! πŸ™‚

  3. I know about long-distance relationships and how difficult they can be (I lived in the States while attending University, although it was only a 2-hour drive to get home!). Glad you will soon be united with your beloved without fear of having to separate again, despite the scary nature of relocating your whole life. It’s easier to accept such changes when you’re with the one you love. πŸ™‚

    I’m sure Sweden is not ready for you, but they will soon enjoy your energy and wit! πŸ™‚

    • That is very true. I think if I was just moving overseas on my own, for different reasons, it might be a lot more terrifying. But the fact that I am going to be reunited with her makes it all worthwhile, and very much dampens the scary side of moving my life so far away.
      Thank you, I hope they do. I already love the country from my first and quite quick visit. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, it was a pretty crazy moment. Even though I’d been planning to do it for such a long time, actually doing it was quite the experience. Geeze, imagine when I’m actually on the plane! πŸ˜›

  4. Sweden might not be ready for your awesomeness yet, but I am! πŸ˜‰ I hope your day at work is okay, I’m night-owling again even though I really should head to bed since we are driving back home tomorrow and I need to have energy for the 1000 km we’ve got ahead of us πŸ˜›
    Love you, xx

    • And I am ready for your awesomeness! πŸ˜‰ So excited to be with you for good! Then we can both be night-owls together too, and not have to worry about this whole me-being-half-a-day-in-the-future thing. πŸ˜›
      Hope the trip is going well (even though when you read this you’ll be home and I’ll have spoken to you lots before then anyway…but you know what I mean).
      Love ya xx

  5. Yay! It’s officially official, then! πŸ˜€
    I believe congratulations are in order, I hope the move goes smoothly, and that the two of you make each other VERY happy. (I think you’ve already got that last one taken care of, though) πŸ™‚

    • It is indeed officially official! πŸ˜€
      Thank you! I hope it goes smoothly as well – so far it feels like it’s been too easy, but maybe I need to take this as a sign that it’s just meant to be! We’ll definitely make each other very happy, ahhh it’s so exciting!
      Thanks for your constant support, encouragement and shared excitement – it definitely adds to our own! πŸ˜€

  6. How exciting! And it will take some time getting used to being near each other all the time! My husband and i were in a long distance relationship before we were married, however not in two different countries!

    • Ahh well there you go! I keep finding a lot of people have been through the long distance thing, especially a lot of bloggers (which I find fascinating in itself). It will take some time getting used to being near each other all the time, but not in a bad way I don’t think. When I visited the town in Sweden I’m moving to back in July, I was only there for 2 weeks but we got very used to being together all the time. Coming back was a lot harder to get used to, as if I was leaving my new reality for some other thing haha. I’m very excited though – of course there’ll be lots of stresses like getting new jobs and houses, moving my stuff, learning the language, but I’m excited about the whole experience I have ahead of me. πŸ˜€

What do you think?

