NaNoWriMo Update #1: 3 days in and primed to win

2013-Participant-Vertical-BannerIf you take a look at the previous years I have attempted this monster event, in which hundreds of thousands of lunatics just like me try to write a 50 000 word novel in 30 days, you will notice on my old statistical graphs that generally I don’t start strong. In fact, I tend to fall behind on Day 2, and often by the end of the first week I am so far behind it would seem all hope is lost (even though I always find a way to catch up).

But this year something really rather strange has happened. At the end of today, I should be at about 5000 words to be on track. Yet I currently sit at 8000 words, and depending on how I feel I might go back after this blog post and knock out a few hundred more. And I’m not quite sure why this is happening.

There is a chance that I’m surging ahead because I planned quite a lot for a change – that is definitely one major difference between this year and previous years that I cannot ignore. But I also half wonder if I’m writing a lot defensively rather than offensively. What I mean by this is that I think deep down I fear that I’m going to struggle to keep up with the writing demands during the week, as I have been stumbling from week to week in a state of utter exhaustion lately.

Whatever the cause, I’m quite happy with my progress. I know that it is nothing compared to the achievements of some wrimos – I know of one who hit 50k within the first 24 hours, unless my eyes deceived me, which is an utterly insane, terrifying and amazing feat of endurance in itself. Many are well and truly into the 5 digits, while some are still struggling to hit 4 digits, yet I have to remember (as does everybody else attempting this) that it is early days. Anything can and will happen this month; those behind can perform miraculous catch ups and those miles ahead can suddenly come to an abrupt halt. As long as we all keep writing, we’ll get there.

So I guess that would be my parting words, the very same key words of advice I gave some students recently: just write.

For any followers who are doing NaNoWriMo this year, how are you guys going? Are you on schedule? Are you just aiming for the 50k or for a different goal?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update #1: 3 days in and primed to win

  1. Hi, WordPress recommended your blog post about NaNoWriMo so this is my first time reading your blog. I participated (and won) NaNoWriMo last year but I’m working on a different November challenge this time round. I am SO impressed with people like you who are staying on target this early in the challenge. It’s so hard to meet those first days and keep going, but its the only way to get a sure win. That guy, whoever he/she was, who did 50k in a day terrifies me too! Last year, I had a 10k day but that was ROUGH. Anyway, I’m trying to check out other people’s blogs in November and found yours so I wanted to say “hi” and best of luck for your NaNo journey this year! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi! Thanks for dropping by, and good to know that I’ve rambled on about NaNoWriMo so many times WordPress has noticed hahaha.
      So what November challenge are you attempting this time around? I’ve found myself trying other challenges through the years since I started doing NaNo a few years ago, including the now deceased Script Frenzy, and NaPoWriMo (a poetry one in April), among others. It’s fun to challenge yourself like that I reckon.
      Thank you for the kind words, it is encouraging to hear other people’s thoughts as I force myself to keep pushing through this and keep the momentum up. I have a 10k day almost every year, which is very rough as you say. Actually, I’m half tempted to try for 10k this coming Saturday.
      Thank you for the comment, and good luck on your November challenge! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Hi! This month, I am attempting my own challenge really, namely, to work more on the writing that I am already doing. Yesterday, I wrote 10 blog posts (2 weeks’ worth) and my goal this month is to work towards 3-5 blog posts a week. I’m also trying to stay on top of my book reviews assignments and look for new publishing opportunities to branch out my writing portfolio. Enough to keep busy through November and into the New Year, probably! Thanks for the reply and best of luck with NaNoWriMo!

What do you think?

