30 Day Book Challenge #2: Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than 3 times

I’m not one to re-read books very often, mostly because I feel there are so many books I desperately need to read that if I read a book more than once it would be stealing away time from an as-yet-unread story.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The GalaxyThe one exception to this (and I suspect my answer to this question when I first answered it two years ago) is The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy series by Douglas Adams. I think for me, these books are to literature what Monty Python was for television and film – the one thing I can confidently go to and know I’ll have a good laugh. Anybody who vaguely knows me knows I love my comedy and for me Adams is by far one of the funniest writers who ever lived.

These five books, which make up the bulk of his writing (the majority of the rest being his two Dirk Gently books, which were also great), were just so completely ridiculous and yet made such intelligent remarks about the world and the people who inhabit it. I think I go back to these books so much because they’re easy to read, I know what happens, and they never fail to make me smile. They’re books I don’t need to think about, even though I find them thought provoking anyway (if that makes sense).

Recently I seem to have misplaced my physical copy which contained all of these novels, and with my move to Sweden imminent it’s looking less likely I’ll find it before I go. But luckily I do now have all of the books by Adams as e-books on my tablet, so I can at least re-read them until I can afford to buy the physical copy again.

If you haven’t read anything by Douglas Adams, you really must give him a try. His humour isn’t for everybody, but he is much loved by many around the world for a reason.

What books have you read more than 3 times? What is it that draws you back to those books?

What do you think?

