Day 03 – Your favourite series (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

Really my answer here is the Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy series by Douglas Adams, but as I just talked about that yesterday I feel like I should consider some other book series that I love instead.

The Hunger GamesThere are a couple which come to mind that I didn’t blog about for this post 2 years ago. The first is the Hunger Games series. It’s not that they’re the most amazingly written books ever, or that the characters and storylines are without flaws. It’s not that the movies based on the books are turning out to be really quite amazing. More than anything, it comes down to the fact that the story is so memorable and so thought provoking. I’ve had some really good conversations with people about these books, not only friends and other bloggers but a lot of my teenage students too! Definitely a series which I thoroughly enjoyed reading – I remember finishing off the second book and picking the third book up immediately to continue reading the story, which says a lot in itself I suppose.

Jeeves and Wooster seriesAnother one I have to mention is the Jeeves and Wooster series of books by P. G. Wodehouse. I’ve spoken of Wodehouse on numerous occasions, and I absolutely adore his incredible wit and ability to craft gorgeous sentences in a way no other ever could. Each of the Jeeves and Wooster novels are remarkably similar in story, to the point where I struggle to differentiate between them and am not always sure which I have read and which I haven’t, but I kind of like coming to these books and knowing exactly what to expect from bumbling aristocrat Bertie and his genius yet emotionless butler. Despite the intelligence of the language and the way the tales are told, these are great stories to just relax with and drink wine or tea or some other such thing. Not to mention the fact that there was also a great television series based on the books that starred Hugh Laurie as Bertie Wooster and Stephen Fry as Jeeves – I mean really, what more do I need to say?

There are many others I could name, but I think one thing that draws attention to these for me is that it is much more likely I would re-read these one day. Definitely worth checking out if you haven’t already!

What is your favourite book series, and why?

What do you think?

