Day 04 – A guilty pleasure book (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

My (slightly late) post for this topic is going to be quite brief, to be honest. The main reason for this is that I am not really one to do much guilty pleasure reading. I’m sure this makes me sound like a total pretentious git, but I really don’t read those kinds of books. I suppose my guilty pleasure reading is probably the likes of Douglas Adams, or maybe Spike Milligan and some of his silly books. Also I find P. G. Wodehouse to be a kind of guilty pleasure reading, as for me it is just pure escapism. But with the literary ability he possessed, his books were hardly trashy.

And that’s the point – I don’t really read trashy books. I just don’t care for them, ever. If I only have a certain amount of time to read, I want to be reading good books, powerful stories that will move me, shatter me, upset me to my core or fill me with hope and happiness. I don’t want to read stuff that I know is just bad, that I will gain nothing from and which ultimately serve no purpose.

So I’m afraid I can’t really answer this question, or at least not in the manner in which it was intended. I try to make sure I don’t judge people who do read such books, as reading anything at all is better than reading nothing and I know for some people they just like to read to escape from life a bit, but for me I can’t read the sorts of books that could be labelled as guilty pleasure books.

What about you? Do you read any guilty pleasure books? If so, what draws you to them?

8 thoughts on “Day 04 – A guilty pleasure book (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

    • YOU DIDN’T EVEN READ 50 SHADES? Good, neither did I hahaha. I read a few pages of one of the saucier scenes, burst into laughter at how bad it was, and put the book down. If I had a fireplace I may have flung it in, although it wasn’t my book to be fair. I am really stunned at just how popular that one became.
      But yeah, when I think of fellow blogging friends who wouldn’t read trashy books you were one of the first people who came to mind. And I promise you that’s a good thing! 🙂

      • Haha, Aw, I’m totally honored and totally happy you haven’t read it either. I’ve actually thrown away one book in my entire life and I feel like it was by Klosterman? Chuck Klosterman? But I honestly don’t remember. This makes me want to look it up. It was disgustingly sexist and in the head of a guy that thought it was okay to rape girls, but not like … Lolita, more like an asshole.

        • Hmm I don’t recognise that author’s name at all, but that book sounds absolutely awful. I hate that people write stuff like that and think it’s okay, when it’s not because it can seriously mess with people. We don’t need more screwed up stuff like that in this world, influencing people in all the wrong ways. I couldn’t even finish Lolita – I think being a teacher especially it was just too disturbing. I know lots of people think it’s amazing, but I just kept thinking how wrong it was. It was an interesting moment where for once I found myself drawing a very clear line in the sand in terms of my own morals and values, and how much I was willing to defy them.

  1. Me neither, I think that guilty pleasure books are a waste of time. Books are there to reel you in, to breathe life into characters and fill your soul.
    I’m a YA person and half the books around here are for guilty pleasure. I mean, ranging from Gossip Girl down to a junior version of 50 Shades, it’s quite boring, useless and absolute garbage.

    • Exactly! I couldn’t have said it better myself! 🙂
      Yeah, I’m very cautious with the YA genre. There are some great books and amazing authors in that genre, but there’s a lot of rubbish. Although I guess it’s really becoming the same in a lot of fiction genres these days – you just have to be more aware of who is worth reading and who you should avoid I think.

What do you think?

