Day 12 – The first novel you remember reading (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

This is one of those questions that I’m always not a hundred percent sure about. If it was the first ever book, I would say something like The Very Hungry Caterpillar, perhaps. But first ever novel? I can only assume it would be something by Roald Dahl, and my memory seems to insist that it was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, which sounds good to me.

Charlie and the Chocolate FactoryCharlie and the Chocolate Factory is perhaps Roald Dahl’s most well known story, having been turned into two highly successful films (I’ll always prefer the older version with Gene Wilder to the newer one). The idea of chocolate, perhaps a magical food in the eyes of children, being made in a factory full of magic and tricks and more colours than you could shake a paintbrush at is something that appeals to most children. The story is incredibly imaginative, and no doubt had a huge influence on my creativity at a young age.

It’s been a long time since I’ve read this, so I can’t comment in too much detail, but I will say that if you haven’t read this book, at any age, you are missing out!

What’s the first novel you remember reading? Is it still special to you?

2 thoughts on “Day 12 – The first novel you remember reading (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

What do you think?

