Day 13 – Your favourite writer (right now) (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

In the list this topic just said “your favourite writer”. However I remember my answer from a couple of years ago, and I guess really I just have several favourite writers now. So I’m going to choose one who I am currently reading a lot of – John Green.

John GreenJohn Green writes young adult fiction, alongside being a world-famous Youtube vlogger and a generally awesome and likeable person. He is most famous for the occasionally controversial Looking For Alaska and the absolutely beautiful and brilliant The Fault In Our Stars, which is currently being made into a movie as well.

As some of you may remember, TFIOS was my favourite book last year – it quite literally took my breath away. John Green has this knack for approaching sensitive subjects in such a way that he brings them to life, makes them possible to relate to as a reader, and illustrates the beauty in all parts of life, most notably through his characters simply being very human. His books are easy to read and impossible to put down, which is the best combination really.

At the moment I am working my way through his other two novels, An Abundance of Katherines and Paper Towns, before I move on to the two novels he has co-written, Let It Snow and Will Grayson, Will Grayson. It is nice to have found an author I am so eager to explore, and I urge you to try him if you haven’t already.

Check out the Youtube channel John shares with his brother, Hank, here (and see why they have hundreds of millions of views):

http://www.youtube.com/user/vlogbrothers

Who is currently your favourite author? What is it about their writing which draws you in?

3 thoughts on “Day 13 – Your favourite writer (right now) (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

  1. Still Lee Child it has to be – although Ian Rankin is up there as well. – Very boring of me but it’s true, although this year I did discover the Bryant and May mysteries by Christopher Fowler and so I guess he is the pretender. Happy New Year.

  2. Pingback: Day 14 – Favourite book of your favourite writer | Wanton Creation

What do you think?

