Two Year Blogaversary – What next and New Year resolutions

It’s hard to believe this, but tomorrow my blog turns two years old! It was on the 2nd of January, 2012 I started this blog, and little did I know where my blog would lead me (for those who missed the posts earlier last year, I revealed that the girl who I’m moving from Australia to Sweden for is someone I met within those first few weeks of blogging).

2013 was a crazy year for me, and I think it showed on my blog as my output generally slowed down across the year. 2014 looks even crazier – it’s two weeks tomorrow until I fly out of Australia and begin my new life in Sweden. So for the next two weeks I’ll run around in a mad panic and then when I get there I have to, well, start everything basically. Get a job, learn the language, continue to be awesome – it’s going to be a challenge, to be honest.

But I will work on keeping my blog more regularly updated, with the focus being on regularly – I will aim to keep a steady 2 or 3 posts a week, rather than writing 5 some weeks and none other weeks. I also have a whole bunch of other goals, but they’ll be easy to achieve and many of them are necessary to achieve. Here goes:

  1. Move to Sweden. (This is kind of a given, really).
  2. Get a job in Sweden. (Also fairly necessary).
  3. Learn Swedish. (I am particularly excited about this one).
  4. Enjoy the snow, and other big changes to my lifestyle.
  5. Get healthy. No, I mean it this time. I’m not upping and moving my whole life and then letting my health slip further down the drain – this time I’m taking back control. Just have to resist the pick and mix sections of the Swedish supermarkets (apparently they’re the biggest importer of those lollies in the world).
  6. Reach 400 blog posts on this blog. This is my 293rd I think, so that comes out at exactly 9 posts a month, or a little over 2 posts a week. I can handle that.
  7. Try and write creatively more often, and write what I am in the mood to write, rather than something I was in the mood to write several months prior. This issue has made writing challenging these last couple of years.
  8. Read more books. I barely read any last year, which was so disappointing. I’m thinking of aiming for 25 – just one a fortnight. I can do that, surely.
  9. The most important one is last: spend time with my girl! It’s been 2 long years of barely seeing each other, there’s a lot of time to make up for now!

I think for once I will achieve all my resolutions, perhaps because I’m being reasonable for a change.

My blog topics will shift a little this year – I will still post about books and music and other random things, but I’m going to post a lot more about Sweden and everywhere else I travel to as well. I want to document some of my experiences moving to a new country, and I am sure I will never run out of fascinating things to tell you all about, so I’m looking forward to that quite a lot. I’ll also update my about me page again after I’ve settled down in Sweden.

In the mean time, I hope you all enjoyed the end of 2013 and have a great 2014 ahead of you! Let’s make the most of it!

14 thoughts on “Two Year Blogaversary – What next and New Year resolutions

  1. This is really awesome, I wish you the best of luck and may 2014 bring you all what you want and need. I’m looking forward to start reading your blog and your future posts, sounds interesting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much, that’s very kind of you! I’m looking forward to writing my future posts, I feel like I have something exciting about myself to say for a change hahaha. I’ll definitely be spending more time this year reading other people’s blogs as well (something I did so well in 2012 and so badly in 2013), so I’ll make sure I add your blog to the list to check out! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, I hope so too! It’s fun to know I will definitely have something new and exciting to talk about – I sometimes wonder if that’s why I lost momentum with my blogging over 2013, because it felt like a repeat of 2012 in many ways as I slowly built up to this move at the start of 2014. I’m personally looking forward to having time to read everybody else’s blog posts again, too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ It will be very exciting, and the weird thing for me to get my head around is that this time it isn’t just a holiday – this will be my life from now on! I’m really quite lucky. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, I thought they were pretty good goals overall and much more reasonable than the goals I set all the way back on my very first blog post 2 years ago (mind you, I achieved a surprising amount of those goals that year, somehow). Happy New Year! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. So excited for you blogging buddy! Happy Anniversary!! I cannot wait to hear how awesome Sweden is…of course the girl makes anything infinitely better, but no more killer spiders, snakes, jellyfish + unlimited supplies of delicious goodies=recipe for a great life!

    • Hello! Sorry about the late reply, it’s been a crazy first week in Sweden and mostly I haven’t had the internet, or the time to go on it when I did have access. ๐Ÿ˜›
      It is amazing to be reunited with the girl, but it is strange seeing so few spiders or bugs – they’re just part of life in Australia really. The temperature drop was a shock though, going from Australia where it was so hot the plane couldn’t be boarded for 4 hours to Sweden where everything is covered in snow and ice and I’ve discovered I need to learn to walk again hahaha. (I haven’t even seen snow properly for 16 years, to be fair).
      But life is good, and it’s starting to sink in that this isn’t just another holiday – this is my life now! ๐Ÿ™‚
      How’s everything with you?

What do you think?

