Day 17 – Favourite quote from your favorite book (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

Okay, my fourth one of these for today but now I’m back up to date again, phew!

So, this is a bit silly because the favourite book post is Day 30 and so I’d be revealing it in advance and…well I guess it hasn’t changed since two years ago so long time readers will already know my answer and newer readers could, if they felt so inclined, go back and find out. So I won’t state the book this quote (well, passage really) is from, although it is really really obvious even if you haven’t read it. I just love this for so many reasons, and I hope you can see why.

There was only one catch and that was Catch-22, which specified that a concern for one’s own safety in the face of dangers that were real and immediate was the process of a rational mind. Orr was crazy and could be grounded. All he had to do was ask; and as soon as he did, he would no longer be crazy and would have to fly more missions. Orr would be crazy to fly more missions and sane if he didn’t, but if he was sane he would have to fly them. If he flew them he was crazy and didn’t have to; but if he didn’t want to he was sane and had to. Yossarian was moved very deeply by the absolute simplicity of this clause of Catch-22 and let out a respectful whistle.
“That’s some catch, that Catch-22,” he observed.
“It’s the best there is,” Doc Daneeka agreed.

This is, I might add, is the first mention of the concept of a Catch-22 in the book which gave birth to the concept and name itself. So it’s also quite an important quote in terms of popular culture references – a lot of people refer to Catch-22s in every day life often without knowing where the term comes from, and you’ve just read the very moment in literature in which it came into existence. I also love it because it captures the feel of the book so well – absolute lunacy, basically.

What’s your favourite quote or passage from a book? I’d love to hear different favourite quotes people have!

2 thoughts on “Day 17 – Favourite quote from your favorite book (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

  1. Sorry Matt. For the last 7 years my world has consisted of mostly Dr Seuss and Roald Dahl… So here goes
    “You’ll get mixed up, of course,
    as you already know.
    You’ll get mixed up
    with many strange birds as you go.
    So be sure when you step.
    Step with care and great tact
    and remember that Life’s
    a Great Balancing Act.
    Just never forget to be dexterous and deft.
    And never mix up your right foot with your left.”
    Oh the places you’ll go….. Dr Seuss

    My fave Dr Seuss book with lessons for all, no matter our age 🙂

    • Lovely! I really like it actually, a great lesson for young ones but also for adults haha! I’d love to go back and get some Dr Seuss books, and as for Roald Dahl I have most of his books in a box somewhere. I owe a lot of my creativity to him, I suspect. 🙂

What do you think?

