Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

There’s a lot of books I’ve been meaning to read for a long time – here is just a few of them:

  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez – I’ve read Love in The Time Of Cholera before, and while I fell in love with the writing the story overall was a bit disappointing. This is his other ridiculously famous book which was written some twenty years earlier, so I’m curious to see how it contrasts.
  • Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke – I actually started reading this and maybe got a hundred pages in. It was pretty good overall, and I was definitely interested, but as you all know I’m a bit of a manic reader and like to read several books at once, and this thousand-page epic victorian fantasy whatever the heck you want to call it just wasn’t what I was in the mood for at the time. One day.
  • The Poet by Michael Connelly – I’ve been meaning to read modern crime fiction for a long time, and I’m told by a lot of people that this author and this particular novel is a pretty good place to start.
  • One Man’s Bible by Gao Xingjian – I’ve read his other, Nobel prize winning novel, Soul Mountain, and it was one of the most challenging but mesmerising things I’ve ever read. I can’t wait to sit down and read this one when I get a chance.
  • House Of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – This was a book which looked at what conventions of novel writing were, and then set them on fire and threw them out the window. With all sorts of bizarre formatting throughout the book, including pages with just one word, other pages with different fonts and colours, and other other pages with writing upside down, sideways, diagonally and so on, it’s about as interactive as a printed book can get without having pop-ups or choose-your-own-adventure embedded. It’s also supposed to be super creepy.

These are all books I will get around to reading, but all of them are in boxes in the back of a storage unit, and I probably won’t be reunited with them until I ship them over to Sweden later in the year. So in the meantime, I guess I’ll have to buy new books in Sweden, right?

What books have you been meaning to read for a long time but still haven’t read yet?

8 thoughts on “Day 23 – A book you wanted to read for a long time but still haven’t (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

  1. Been there, buddy. I order 30 books from the library and manage to consume only 20 – the other ten are forgotten until I stumble upon them in the bookstore.

    • Hahaha yeah, I think in the last few years I’ve ordered double the books I’ve consumed – I own at least 100-150 books that I am yet to read. I’ll get there though, hopefully whatever work I pick up when I move to Sweden will be the sort of work that will leave me with more free time to read again.

  2. The Dune series. I have read the first one and i started the second however i just couldn’t get into the second one so i started reading other books and haven’t yet come back to it. Also Moby Dick. That book is the bane of my life!!!

    • Yes! I’m exactly the same with The Dune series, except I didn’t even get into the first one, I got maybe a hundred pages into it? I have heard Moby Dick is really just Moby Dull… I’ve also heard people speak of Ulysses in that way, but then others talk about Ulysses like it’s one of the greatest things to ever happen to literature, so I’m reserving judgement until I’ve read it fully.

    • I will read it one day. Right now my copy of it is in a storage unit back in Australia, and sadly there it shall remain until I can afford to ship it all over.
      And yes you must read Catch-22!!! It’s nothing to be embarrassed about though – actually I know a few people who just don’t like it, or who started it and couldn’t finish. But I know as many, if not more, who like me read it and fell in love with it straight away. But anyway I’m rambling, point is I’d love to hear your thoughts on it when you do eventually read it! 🙂

What do you think?

