Day 24 – A book that you wish more people would’ve read (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

There are so many books I could do for this topic, but I think I’ll post one that I don’t think I’ve mentioned yet in this edition of the 30 Day Book Challenge (and if I have, oops, oh well).

Captain Corelli's MandolinI wish more people would read Captain Corelli’s Mandolin by Louis de Bernières. It’s one of my favourite novels of all time, which probably has something to do with my choice here, but there’s more to it than that. You see, there’s a film adaptation of this novel that is absolutely awful. Louis de Bernières himself isn’t that fond of it if my memory serves me correct, and I am yet to hear one person say a good thing about it. Sadly, for a lot of people that is their main contact with the story, and so they are reluctant to read the novel, which makes me sad because it is such a brilliant book. It’s funny and tragic all at the same time, as it weaves a love story during a time when invading armies would take over whole towns in Europe during WWII, and there is just that beauty that always exists in war stories when we see the best and worst of mankind simultaneously.

If you haven’t read this book, and you feel unsure because you’ve seen or heard about the movie, forget about the film and just read it. Trust me, it’s amazing.

What’s a book you wish more people would read?

15 thoughts on “Day 24 – A book that you wish more people would’ve read (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

  1. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life by Barbara Kingsolver. Part memoir, part PSA about the agricultural industry. Really was eye-opening and motivating for me.

    • The Archives of Anthropos series by John White. He wrote it for his children. He was an author of Christian non-fiction books for adults and his kids had just read The Chronicles of Narnia. They wanted him to write them a book series just like Narnia and they told him he could because he was an author (even though he’d never written a fiction book before, let alone a children’s one!) He agreed however so many other people liked it that it was published! He sometimes gets a bad rap that he just copied Narnia however he acknowledges that was kind of the point…anyway i think they are fantastic books and the premise is similar to Narnia but i believe they hold their own. I love them!

      • Oh okay, I’ve never heard of them but they sound intriguing. I think if he’s aware they were similar it might not be too bad, because it won’t be trying to hard to not sound the same, if that made any sense?
        I think WordPress sometimes stuffs people’s comments around like that too – it’s happened to me before, and I’ve no idea why.

  2. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin is fantastic, I totally agree with what you said about the book. It’s unfortunate that the adaptation was so =/, it didn’t even scratch the surface with his wonderfully rich and complex the book was (so reading the book was a delightful surprise–I learned about the book after watching the movie first).

    Off the top of my head, Carmen Laforet’s Nada. Such a fascinating Spanish classic 🙂

    • Ahh, glad to find somebody who knows what I mean! Have you read any of his other books? I’ve read all of them, and almost all of them are just as amazing (especially Birds Without Wings).
      Ooh that sounds interesting! I do have a growing interest in Spanish literature, I’ll have to try it. 🙂

      • I’ve only read Birds Without Wings (loved it!) but I’ve been meaning to read his other books. Soon, I hope…

        Hope you enjoy if/when you get to it! I’ve also developed a keen interest in Spanish literature these past few years; I’m always on the lookout for new titles (a bit difficult as many titles have not been translated to English it seems) 🙂

        • Oh okay? Wow, interesting book to start on for him. I loved that one too. The only book of his that was a bit average was A Partisan’s Daughter, the rest are pretty amazing. Definitely go to Captain Corelli’s Mandolin next – it’s very similar in style to Birds Without Wings, and you might even notice a couple of (quite minor) characters making an appearance at a much older age.
          I think there is a growing interest in world literature, so slowly (very slowly) more books are being translated into English. I guess there’s probably not that many reputable translators out there, not enough anyway. 😛

          • Oops, slight typo from my previous comment: meant to say that the only books I read from him were Birds without wings and Captain Corelli’s Mandolin 😀 Good to know about his other books–I almost picked up A Partisan’s Daughter a few years ago but I did hear it wasn’t as fantastic as the others.

            I can understand why it’s so slow getting them translated into English though–translation is no easy task! xD *had to write a translation exam a few years ago* It would be nice if there were more out there translating books though 🙂

            • OHHHH righto. Well then hmm…Red Dog is cute and an easy read (and the movie is cute too). Notwithstanding is interesting in that its a collection of short stories all intertwined by being set in the same village – its very very British in feel. The first three novels, his South American Trilogy, are all fantastic and hilarious but quite strange in places – but you can see him building up his style as he goes on. That trilogy is perhaps a pretty good place to visit next in his catalogue, I would say.
              Yeah, I’d love to translate books down the track when I am more multi-lingual I think. That would be the sort of job I’d really enjoy…hmmmm *ponders* 🙂

  3. I agree. Unfortunately, this is often the problem with film/TV adaptations- they generally fail to do the book justice, resulting in nobody wanting to read it.

    I really wish more men would read literature by female novelists like Angela Carter; sometimes the label of ‘feminist’ imposed by critics can do a disservice to truly brilliant writers.

    • Yeah, this is very true. A lot of my favourite ever novels were ruined in their screen adaptations, and people look at me funny when they find out the books are among my favourites.
      I know what you mean, I think labels like that do put people off reading certain authors. I found Angela Carter fascinating – I studied her a bit in my first year of uni, when I was only 17 (geeze I was still a kid) but it made a lasting impression on me.

What do you think?

