Day 28 – Favourite title (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

Book titles have an alarming influence over me, far more than they should. I have read many books just because they have a good title, but I suppose as far as I see it if an author can think of a really clever title, chances are I’ll like their writing. So here are a few of my favourites:

  • The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared
  • The Elegance Of The Hedgehog
  • Adolf Hitler: My Part In His Downfall
  • An Anthropologist On Mars: Seven Paradoxical Tales
  • The Ode Less Travelled
  • The Long Dark Tea-Time Of The Soul
  • Calcium Made Interesting
  • Sunday Morning At The Centre Of The World
  • The Thousand Autumns Of Jacob de Zoet
  • An Arsonist’s Guide To Writers’ Homes In New England
  • The War Of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts
  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat
  • A Short History Of Tractors in Ukrainian
  • An Utterly Impartial History of Britain or 2000 Years of Upper Class Idiots In Charge
  • The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-time
  • 1000 Years of Annoying The French

What are some of your favourite book titles? Do they influence your decision to buy or read a book at all?

4 thoughts on “Day 28 – Favourite title (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

  1. ‘Is it just me, or is everything sh*t?’ would be one, and the other is ‘I’m not eating any of that foreign muck’. I’m a non-fiction guy. As for fiction…I always liked ‘The Machine Gunners’ as title and as a children’s book.

What do you think?

