Day 29 – A book that makes you cry (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

When I wrote on this topic the first time nearly two years ago, I only had one book which had made me cry, but now it’s been joined by a couple of others…

  • Catch-22 by Joseph Heller: As I mentioned in a post just a couple of days ago, I cried my eyes out in the second last chapter of this novel. Due to the non-linear chronology of the story, you know how this chapter is going to end, and yet it’s still devastating because you find yourself drawn into the world of the characters so much that you feel what they’re feeling, the total panic as they scramble to avert a situation which cannot be stopped. I had to put the book down a moment when I first read this. It was the first book to make me cry properly.
  • The Fault In Our Stars by John Green: Seriously, who didn’t cry while reading this book? I cried a couple of times towards the end, and it was a big ugly cry. I had to put the book down and walk away for a few minutes at one point because I was just going to get the book wet otherwise. Simply amazing.
  • Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami: There are some very upsetting moments in this book, and I wasn’t as prepared for them as I thought I was. The book simply contains some confronting themes that would upset most people, and some of them felt a little close to home for me I guess. Still, this book left me speechless in a positive way overall.

I’m sure there’s another book which has made me cry, but I can’t for the life of me think of what it is. I know I nearly cried while reading The Book Thief (and I bet most of you could guess what scene), but I didn’t quite cry, my eyes just got a bit watery. But I think these books are all among my favourite books – a book that is that powerful emotionally to me is what writing is all about. I’ve never been about happy endings, I want a book to shatter my world and throw me through an emotional rollercoaster, through an experience I haven’t felt before.

What’s a book that makes you cry?

16 thoughts on “Day 29 – A book that makes you cry (30 Day Book Challenge #2)

  1. This has inspired me to do more reading – I love it, just don’t get a lot of time for it. Loads of books make me cry, but then so do adverts! 1984 is one of my favourite all time books, and I always find that very poignant and sad to read. I also cried when I read Time Traveller’s Wife – again, kind of knowing what is going to happen doesn’t stop the emotion!

    • Yeah I know how you feel – I feel like I barely read at all last year so I need to make more of an effort this year and just find the time for it. I find 1984 sad but I think for me it’s more intellectually stimulating than it is emotionally stimulating, especially as the writing seems so cold and detached at times. It is a brilliant book though. I quite liked The Time Traveller’s Wife, although I didn’t cry and again I found it more intriguing, the way that you see what is going to happen slowly being pieced together – I think that appealed to my inner writer. It’s funny what does make different people cry, but I guess we all have different triggers based on our personal experiences.

  2. The ones that always comes to mind is The Physician by noah Gordon and it’s the race scene in that. I remember sitting and blabbing like a baby other books have made me cry but that was so very powerful it has stayed with me for over thirty years

  3. Question (and, quite possibly, heartless confession): What exactly about The Fault in Our Stars made you cry? I read it, and, even though I thought it was sad and beautiful and all, I didn’t really cry over it. Maybe a little teary, but not anywhere near to how most people say the book affected them. I feel like I’m putting my frozen heart out on display right now (haha), but I’m just curious.

    • Hmm I know I cried during a certain speech towards the end of the book (not going to spell it out on here in case someone who hasn’t read it stumbles across, but I’m sure you know which one I mean). I cried a lot when a certain character ended up not being as well as they thought/portrayed they were. I think for me I’ve lost a few people I’ve known to cancer, and almost all of them were young – in their 20s, 30s or 40s, with the exception of my Grandpa but he was only 66 too so he wasn’t exactly old old. I think it was just very close to home for me, but I liked how he focused on the characters being human and not just succumbing to the cancer (something which sadly doesn’t always happen – I’ve known some people fight it until the last drop, but I’ve known others just give up straight away).
      I guess that might be why different people react to it, because we all have different experiences with cancer. And having experienced a lot doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll blubber like me – it might make some people more thick skinned about it too. So yeah, I dunno. I wouldn’t worry – I don’t think you’re heartless hahaha. 🙂

      • Hehe thanks. I guess it would be more emotional if I had more of a connection to cancer…you know. I will admit I got a bit teary during a certain male speech near the end….but there was something about the other one that just had me saying, “Um…what?? That was it??”

        • Yeah, the connection makes it a lot more powerful I suppose, but hey, it’s not something I’d wish on anyone or anyone they knew haha.
          I guess that’s the great thing with literature – we all react in different ways. I find war stories hit me hard too as I’ve had relatives in various wars. It’s all a matter of perspective and all that 🙂

What do you think?

