I’m alive! And a bit chilly…

Hi all! Sorry about the silence for the last week or two while I settle down in my new home of Sweden. It’s been a hectic few days trying to get things sorted, and I still have a lot to do, but I am very happy being reunited with my partner at long last and the country is beautiful.

I thought I’d keep it brief and just post a few photos from our first weekend together last weekend, including a barbeque out in a snowy forest (which, for somebody who hasn’t seen snow for over 16 years, was pretty amazing).

Reunited at last!

Reunited at last!

I was stunned by how straight and tall the trees are in this place, it was really quite a sight.

I was stunned by how straight and tall the trees are in this place – it was really quite a sight.

The barbeque itself. This was something I would not have ever thought possible in Australia. The fire was nice and warm but the smoke kept getting in my eyes forcing me to play a game of musical chairs.

The barbeque itself. This was something I would not have ever thought possible in Australia. The fire was nice and warm but the smoke kept getting in my eyes forcing me to play a game of musical chairs.

This area of Sweden was hit with a pretty ferocious storm some months back, and there were hundreds of trees that had been snapped and blown down like these few here.

This area of Sweden was hit with a pretty ferocious storm some months back, and there were hundreds of trees that had been snapped and blown down like these few here.

I don't think I was going to be crossing this bridge across the creek.

I don’t think I was going to be crossing this bridge across the creek.

There was something almost magical about the water flowing over snowy rocks.

There was something almost magical about the water flowing over snowy rocks.

That’s it for now. I do have more photos, but they’ll come in a later post a little down the track. I’ll also write a more wordy post soon in which I’ll discuss the highs and lows of my adventure so far.

Until then, Hej då!

16 thoughts on “I’m alive! And a bit chilly…

  1. Beautiful photos! The trees really are impressively straight (fun tidbit, I am tired and when I tried to write ‘the trees’ I wrote, ‘threes’ which I know motion to make the smooshed slang of ‘the trees’)
    Good to see you made it over there and are now reunited with your truly lovely looking girlfriend. Good luck!

    • Thanks, my photos are terrible but what I was taking photos of was definitely beautiful. I laughed at your trees/threes thing, that is so something I’d do when tired. I just wrote my resume and I’m so tired I made all sorts of silly typos like that. So I might wait until tomorrow before I apply to the International English School so I don’t write something stupid and ruin my chances with one of the only employers here who don’t require Swedish haha.
      Thank you! It is lovely to be reunited again, and I am really a bit lucky to have found such a beauty hahaha! 🙂

  2. How fascinating – to see these photos from Sweden – a beautiful country that I know so little about. I hope to learn about this area through your blog. Best of luck in your new home.

    • It is one of those places that a lot of people don’t think about too much and so don’t know much about. A lot of my Aussie friends hadn’t given it much thought and now suddenly they’re a lot more intrigued by the place (and hopefully some of them might visit one day). I’ll try to teach a bit about the place in my blog as soon as my life has calmed down a bit. 🙂

    • Hahahah! Thanks, we are so happy and it hasn’t fully sunk in that this time I don’t have to leave again. By this Friday it’ll be the longest we’ve ever been together physically – kinda sad and exciting haha. It has gone mostly smoothly, it’s the paperwork side of things that is proving more of a challenge but I’ll get through it all eventually.

    • Yeah, it was so hot in Australia when I left. It actually was a 50 degree drop in temperatures for me, it was insane. Mind I think a lot of Australia has had rain to bring the temps back down hasn’t it?
      The snow is lovely, even if it’s slippery and I’m very clumsy. 😛

    • Hahaha you have been gone quite a while haven’t you? I keep going through phases with my blog at the moment, where I bust out a lot of posts quickly and then slow down again.
      Sweden is treating me fairly well on the whole, I have a few more pics to post up very soon (as in, I might do it now actually if I can sift through them quickly enough). It’s a beautiful country and hugely different to the inferno that was Australia haha.
      Glad to see you back blogging, I’ll check out your blog a little later 🙂

  3. Pingback: Life in Sweden (in words), Part 1 | Wanton Creation

What do you think?

