A trip into town via a frozen river – more photos from my Swedish adventure

I have some more pictures to share with you all. These are taken today from a trip into town mostly for the sake of snapping up some more photos, and like all trips they begin from home so I have included a few photos from my apartment to begin. As always I’ll write little captions about each photo as we go. Enjoy!

This is my nice big comfy bed. It's hard to get out of many mornings, I must say.

This is my nice big comfy bed. It’s hard to get out of many mornings, I must say.

Seriously, this couch can fit 4 people on it comfortably. It's enormous.

Seriously, this couch can fit 4 people on it comfortably. It’s enormous.

The TV isn't much smaller than the couch, really. I was stunned at the size of it. I mean, it's not mine, but for the time being I can't complain!

The TV isn’t much smaller than the couch, really. I was stunned at the size of it. I mean, it’s not mine, but for the time being I can’t complain!

This is the view from my kitchen window. You can kind of see the snow falling if you look closely. This is the train station and a huge hotel.

This is the view from my kitchen window. You can kind of see the snow falling if you look closely. This is the train station and a huge hotel.

 

The view from my bed side.

The view from my bed side.

The view from my lounge window.

The view from my lounge window.

On the walk to town. It's quite picturesque with all the snow covering everything.

On the walk to town. It’s quite picturesque with all the snow covering everything.

Not so picturesque is the snow mud covering the roads and some of the more main pathways. But it makes it easier to walk (and less likely for me to go flying on the ice, like the clumsy clutz I am).

Not so picturesque is the snow mud covering the roads and some of the more main pathways. But it makes it easier to walk (and less likely for me to go flying on the ice, like the clumsy clutz I am).

As I approach town I can see the church looming in the background. It's quite an awesome sight.

As I approach town I can see the church looming in the background. It’s quite an awesome sight.

Halmstad Castle. It's small but hey, a castle's a castle.

Halmstad Castle. It’s small but hey, a castle’s a castle.

Picasso Park. If you're wondering why it's called that, you probably haven't noticed that statue yet.

Picasso Park. If you’re wondering why it’s called that, you probably haven’t noticed that statue yet.

The River Nissan. It's frozen overnight (it's been slowly freezing up for days) and then covered in fresh snow, so I at first didn't even noticed it. Such an amazing sight.

The River Nissan. It’s frozen overnight (it’s been slowly freezing up for days) and then covered in fresh snow, so I at first didn’t even noticed it. Such an amazing sight.

Under the bridge you can see the river still unfrozen.

Under the bridge you can see the river still unfrozen.

The river one last time, from another bridge looking across. It seems to be only completely frozen between these two bridges.

The river one last time, from another bridge looking across. It seems to be only completely frozen between these two bridges.

The library. I love this building and will spend a lot more time here I think. This is what libraries should be like - amazing buildings on the outside, with great views from the inside.

The library. I love this building and will spend a lot more time here I think. This is what libraries should be like – amazing buildings on the outside, with great views from the inside.

The centre of town, all covered in ice and mostly abandoned by people during the weekdays at the moment. It's busier on weekends, but nothing like the summer.

The centre of town, all covered in ice and mostly abandoned by people during the weekdays at the moment. It’s busier on weekends, but nothing like the summer.

The church up a bit closer. A great little building. The bell clock rings out from here too.

The church up a bit closer. A great little building. The bell clock rings out from here too.

Last but not least THEY SELL MALTESERS FLAVOURED THICK SHAKES HERE!!! I mean I'm sure half the world has this, but we didn't back in Australia. This tasted amazing.

Last but not least THEY SELL MALTESERS FLAVOURED THICK SHAKES HERE!!! I mean I’m sure half the world has this, but we didn’t back in Australia. This tasted amazing.

That’s all the photos for now. More Sweden updates to come, and I will try to get back to book reviews soon as well. Also, soon you shall get to hear my misadventures with the Swedish language – that’ll be fun!

Keep reading, keep writing, keep warm my friends!

13 thoughts on “A trip into town via a frozen river – more photos from my Swedish adventure

What do you think?

