Camp NaNoWriMo and NaPoWriMo, or Why I’ll Lose My Mind In April

As you all know, I’m a little crazy.

Oh, sit down and stop applauding and nodding so vigorously, would you? Sheesh!

Anyway, as you also possibly know if you’re a long time reader of my blog, I like writing challenges. I like to push myself with my writing because I believe it does help me to become a better writer over time, and as much as I would love to become a published novelist I refuse to publish anything until I feel I’m a strong enough writer to let my work go free into the world (well, not actually free because…anyway you get the point).

So next month, in April, it appears I am taking not one but TWO challenges. Yeah, who’s crazy now huh? Oh right, it’s still me.

2014 Camp Nano-Participant-Vertical-BannerAnyway, I have just signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo. Remember that crazy novel writing month thing I do every November? This is their other event that you can do in April and another month of the year (I think July). It’s much more flexible, so at the moment I have set it to just 30 000 words that month and I am writing short stories instead. The other thing I have signed up for is NaPoWriMo, the poetry event where I write 30 poems in 30 days. So basically each day of April I’ll be writing 1000 words worth of short story plus a poem. More than likely next month will be the month I suddenly get a job and start learning Swedish at an increasing pace (goodbye sleep).

For more information:

campnanowrimo.org – for all your Camp NaNoWriMo needs. If you want to find my profile it’s at http://campnanowrimo.org/campers/mattius-watsonnius – I would love to contact others who are doing it on there. It would be good to get a cabin of people I already know online (I’m not fully sure how this cabin system works yet).

http://www.napowrimo.net/ – The site for NaPoWriMo is very simple and straightforward, but you can join up and it would be great to see extra support for this growing event.

Let me know on either of these sites, my Twitter or of course on here if you are joining in on either of these events – it’s always great to take on these challenges with other amazing writers!

10 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo and NaPoWriMo, or Why I’ll Lose My Mind In April

  1. So – let me get this right, that’s 30 short stories in one month, one after the other 30? hmm thought that was what you said! Yikes. I love short fiction, love it to bits but – Yikes

    • Oh no, not 30 short stories. Just 30 000 words of short stories, but I mean my short stories would be anywhere from maybe 2000 to 5000 or 6000 words at a guess, so I’ll be writing 1000 words a day towards one of them and hoping to get between 5 and 10 short stories by the end of the month, depending on where I go with them. The poems I’ll be writing one a day though.
      I love poetry, and won’t find that challenge too hard, but the short stories may be a struggle for me.

  2. You’re not the only one that’s crazy. I’m not doing NaPoWriMo, but I placed a bet with two Twitter friends for Camp NaNo, and we need to write at least 150k words each. >.<

    • 150k words each? Far out that’s insane! Very impressive though, good luck to you as I imagine you’re going to need it. My record in one month was 75k, and although I was working A LOT that month with it being exam marking and report writing time for me as a teacher, I don’t know if I could extend on that when I’m not working so much. I’m happy with my 30k of short stories and 30 poems I’ve set for this April (besides, I actually might start working in a few weeks too, as a teacher again, so I’m going to be flat out as I predicted)! 😛
      So is the bet just to see if all three of you can do it?

      • Wow! You’ll be busy, huh? Haha. The bet is to see if we can all do it, but at the same time, the “losers” are going to have to do some sort of dance video or something like that to embarrass ourselves that way. 😀

        • Ahhh that’s a good way to do it, I like that. I should set up some sort of “if I don’t complete this I’ll have to do this/this will happen” type of consequence for myself. Or I’ll just drink a ludicrous amount of coffee, come to think of it. 😛

    • Hahahaha! I like how nobody is trying to say I’m not a total loony! Glad to hear you enjoyed Camp, I’ve heard mixed feelings about it from some of my writing friends so I was unsure about it, but I figure I’ve been nanoing for 5 years now so it’s about time (I used to do Script Frenzy back in the day, too).
      Thank you! 🙂 And maybe I’ll end up doing it in July too hahaha, we’ll see.

What do you think?

