Open Season by High Highs (Mini-Reviews of Not-New Albums #1)

I’ve decided to get back into reviewing music on here, but when I feel like it and in a much shorter form. So the music I review might not always be brand new, but I’m hoping it will be at least good.

High Highs Open SeasonHigh Highs are an indie band from Sydney, Australia (so very local for me up until recently) who released their first EP back in 2011 (I am quite sure I reviewed that at some point in the last two years). Somehow though I failed to notice that they released a full length album early last year, so I’ve finally managed to get my hands on it and listen to it and WOW!

The band is essentially a duo comprising of Jack Milas and Oli Chang, and their music is very quiet and atmospheric, fitting into that strange realm of folk music that is occupied by the likes of Bon Iver, although with vocal harmonies and a sweetness to their song writing that seems more reminiscent of the likes of The Beach Boys. This is one of those strange albums where you find yourself feeling cosy and smiling despite a definite twinge of melancholy permeating throughout most songs.

With the title track Open Season having garnered worldwide success through use in several commercials and featuring on the soundtrack of Pitch Perfect, it’s the most appropriate song with which to end this brief review! Enjoy!

What do you think?

