Göteborg Trip, Round One

Last Saturday I visited the city of Göteborg (Gothenburg), the second biggest city in Sweden and fifth biggest in Scandinavia apparently. It was just a bit over an hour’s train ride up north and despite the trains being severely delayed due to an accident the wait was indeed worth it.

So I thought I would share some photos of my day. There is still a lot left to explore, and some things such as the amazing Turkish restaurant I visited that night, and the archipelago, I could not take photos of due to the lack of light. I will definitely return to the archipelago next time I visit though. In the meantime, here is what I did photograph:

I thought I'd start with this picture, a close up (well, kind of...considering how far away I was when I took it anyway) of a church. I  love the architecture of some of the buildings in this shot, even if it isn't the best photography ever.

I thought I’d start with this picture, a close up (well, kind of…considering how far away I was when I took it anyway) of a church. I love the architecture of some of the buildings in this shot, even if it isn’t the best photography ever.

I just loved how this house looked. We think somebody lives there but we couldn't quite tell.

I just loved how this house looked. We think somebody lives there but we couldn’t quite tell.

This climb is steeper than it looks - that tiny crown you can see in the distance is our end destination (also it's not actually tiny). This is the climb towards the Skansen Kronan, a several century old fort.

This climb is steeper than it looks – that tiny crown you can see in the distance is our end destination (also it’s not actually tiny). This is the climb towards the Skansen Kronan, a several century old fort.

This is the Skansen Kronan, which meets us at the top of the stairs in the last picture. There is a second building like this, only that one has a lion on top where the crown is. We passed it on the train into the city but I was too slow with my camera.

This is the Skansen Kronan, which meets us at the top of the stairs in the last picture. There is a second building like this, only that one has a lion on top where the crown is. We passed it on the train into the city but I was too slow with my camera.

Here is an information board on the Skansen Kronan along with a map. The English section is photographed closer on the next picture.

Here is an information board on the Skansen Kronan along with a map. The English section is photographed closer on the next picture.

The English translation of this information. Quite interesting bits of history here.

The English translation of this information. Quite interesting bits of history here. Click on the picture if this is too small to read.

This is the view from the top of Skansen Kronan, overlooking the city. We had to climb a rickety old staircase up the building but the view was worth it.

This is the view from the top of Skansen Kronan, overlooking the city. We had to climb a rickety old staircase up the building but the view was worth it.

Back in town, we found this cool little house turned into a restaurant with a seemingly out of place spruce next to it.

Back in town, we found this cool little house turned into a restaurant with a seemingly out of place spruce next to it.

More of the city's streets. It definitely felt a lot bigger than my current home town.

More of the city’s streets. It definitely felt a lot bigger than my current home town.

Lots of cafés and restaurants in this area.

Lots of cafés and restaurants in this area.

Café Kringlan, a new favourite I think. Earlier in the day they had a lot of their baked goods out on this table being sold on the street.

Café Kringlan, a new favourite I think. Earlier in the day they had a lot of their baked goods out on this table being sold on the street.

Inside Café Kringlan, it was nice and cosy and we stayed there quite a while.

Inside Café Kringlan. It was nice and cosy and we stayed there quite a while.

Last but not least, while briefly inside a shopping centre we discovered a volleyball game being conducted, sand and everything. Different, but it certainly drew a crowd.

Last but not least, while briefly inside a shopping centre we discovered a volleyball game being conducted, sand and everything. Different, but it certainly drew a crowd.

Well, that’s it for now. But at long last I have started exploring this part of the world outside of my new home town! Have any of you ever been here? If so, what were your thoughts?

10 thoughts on “Göteborg Trip, Round One

  1. Lovely to see your pictures and I do hope that things are working out for you. I have never been to Sweden but my daughter in laws mother is Swedish so they know it well and were there skiing just a few weeks ago.

    • It is awesome architecture. It’s funny, because it’s such a different city to the sort I am used to. I have been to a lot of cities filled with skyscrapers but not particularly old buildings, so this was a refreshing change for me.
      It is a clever idea, the indoor volleyball game. Not that the particular shopping centre it was in needed any more people but still it was entertaining!

  2. Hi Matt, I’ve been on a bit of a blog absence lately and had no idea you had moved to Sweden! Wow, what an adventure! You and your partner look so happy together. Welcome to Svea rike, I hope you’ll like it here. 🙂 I went to Gothenburg a couple of weeks ago, it is as you say a very nice city -culture, shopping (a great sci fi/fantasy/comic book store, SF Bokhandeln), dining. And Halmstad seems like a nice city too, as far as I’ve heard.

    • Ah hello long time no speak! 🙂 Thank you, we are very happy finally being together and it is lovely to be in this great country for good now! It seems I have a lot left to explore in Göteborg yet, but that book store is definitely something I’ll have to check out at some point. Halmstad is nice, very peaceful and a little bit countryside but still with enough to do in town to keep it interesting. Plus the library here is brilliant! 😛

What do you think?

