A limerick about a dog

Today is a writing catch-up day of epic proportions. Ten days into the month, I started today a full week behind schedule on both Camp NaNoWriMo (where I’m writing 30000 words worth of short stories) and NaPoWriMo (where I’m writing 30 poems).

Anyway, amidst all the writing lunacy a silly limerick tiptoed out of my whirling mind and onto the page, and while some forms of poetry I’d be more nervous about showing people, limericks are meant to be silly. So here goes:

IMG_20140410_155659

 

In case you can’t read my awful handwriting (bad writing is a sign of being intelligent right? Right? Oh come on…pleeeease can it be?), I’ll type up the poem here for you:

There once was a dog called Stinker
He pooped too much and was a drinker
But one day he drank mead
While drunk he learned to read
Now he’s called Stinker the Thinker

As I write this blog post, I am now three days behind on the poetry front but still six behind with the short stories, so it’s time to return to the world of talking animals (which is mostly what my short stories have become).

Until next time…unless I lose my mind in a storm of caffeine induced panic.

5 thoughts on “A limerick about a dog

  1. When i was a kid, my cousin and i were on a day outing with family and we were sitting eating our lunch when an unfortunately round boy dropped his towel whilst changing from his pants into his swimmers. We laughed until we almost wet ourselves and them to commemorate the occasion we made up a limerick:

    There once was a boy named Lot,
    It’s a very sad story, is it not?
    His towel fell down
    Without a sound
    And we saw his big fat bot!

    Hahahaha.

What do you think?

