A couple of poems from my NaPoWriMo collection

Now that I’ve caught up on Camp NaNoWriMo, I’ve been focusing more energy on the poetic front to catch up on NaPoWriMo (somebody tell me why I thought it was a good idea to take on two writing challenges at the same time?).

Strangely enough, the haiku I’ve been writing are among some of the better poems, so I thought I’d share two more I’ve written that I only shared on my Instagram yesterday. I’ll transcribe them below, and explain them more afterwards.

It reads: Endless oceans sway Blue on blue, no cloud up high. Dark desert below.

It reads:
Endless oceans sway
Blue on blue, no cloud up high.
Dark desert below.

It reads: Grey day, grey dad, why did you have to take the sun away? We were warm.

It reads:
Grey day, grey day, why
did you have to take the sun
away? We were warm.

The first poem was my attempt at writing about the deceptiveness of the ocean – the way it can be like nothingness going on forever, like a desert, yet can and does hold all these stories, some of which are beautiful and some of which are dark or tragic.

The second poem was quite simply about that day – we have had surprisingly warm weather here in this part of Sweden, and this day was a grey day and a lot cooler (but still really warm, to be honest), so I thought I’d write something silly and sweet about it.

Anyway, back to writing I go. Only a few days left of the month…

2 thoughts on “A couple of poems from my NaPoWriMo collection

What do you think?

