Return to Copenhagen Part 2 – Botanical Gardens and a few funny photos

After walking our way around The King’s Gardens and Rosenborg Castle (see Part 1 here for more information and photos on that part of the day), we finally came across the Botanical Gardens which had been recommended to us by one of the workers where we ate lunch. These gardens were enormous and beautiful, and the dozen or so photos here are from over a hundred photos that I took of the place.

So, without further ado, here we go:

This map perhaps best shows the size of the gardens. You need a couple of hours to see them fully.

This map perhaps best shows the size of the gardens. You need a couple of hours to see them fully.

We weren't allowed inside some parts of the Palm House. No idea why they call it that...

We weren’t allowed inside some parts of the Palm House. No idea why they call it that…

Part of the Palm House we were allowed into. It was like a sauna in here, with steam regularly being shot into the air to keep it hot and humid so the plants and fish can thrive. It felt like I was back in Australia, if only briefly.

Part of the Palm House we were allowed into. It was like a sauna in here, with steam regularly being shot into the air to keep it hot and humid so the plants and fish can thrive. It felt like I was back in Australia, if only briefly.

This is just a cool looking plant - I love how bright it is. If anybody knows what it is feel free to tell me in the comments.

This is just a cool looking plant – I love how bright it is. If anybody knows what it is feel free to tell me in the comments.

Another part we couldn't get into, it looked a little like a lost civilisation that nature had grown over.

Another part we couldn’t get into, it looked a little like a lost civilisation that nature had grown over.

A lot of the floral displays in the gardens were very colourful and beautiful, more so on this bright Spring day.

A lot of the floral displays in the gardens were very colourful and beautiful, more so on this bright Spring day.

It looks like the flowers here are glowing, almost. Best accidental photo in a while.

It looks like the flowers here are glowing, almost. Best accidental photo in a while.

Looking over the gardens from a small hill toward the outside of the enormous Palm House.

Looking over the gardens from a small hill toward the outside of the enormous Palm House.

More colourful flowers.

More colourful flowers.

A little waterfall/river/creek thing we almost missed, but luckily its sound alerted us to its presence. A nice little feature in the gardens.

A little waterfall/river/creek thing we almost missed, but luckily its sound alerted us to its presence. A nice little feature in the gardens.

I think I should turn this into a caption contest. No idea what is actually going on here but I struggle to think of anything that isn't hilarious.

I think I should turn this into a caption contest. No idea what is actually going on here but I struggle to think of anything that isn’t hilarious.

I took a picture of this tree mostly because it reminded me of Sideshow Bob from The Simpsons. You know I'm right.

I took a picture of this tree mostly because it reminded me of Sideshow Bob from The Simpsons. You know I’m right.

This place is called "England", in French, in Denmark. You have to love Europe.

This place is called “England”, in French, in Denmark. You have to love Europe.

As we left for the train out of Copenhagen we walked past this Australian pub, the Southern Cross Pub. In true Aussie fashion two drunkards came out offering us drinks and telling us they loved us.

As we left for the train out of Copenhagen we walked past this Australian pub, the Southern Cross Pub. In true Aussie fashion two drunkards came out offering us drinks and telling us they loved us.

This kangaroo on the pub is drinking Fosters Beer. Can I just point out now, on behalf of Australia (I did spend most of my life there), that Fosters is crap and no Australian ever drinks it, ever. Sadly, it's the beer Australia exports to the world so it's what people imagine Aussie beer to be like. I promise you, real Aussie beer is much better than this.

This kangaroo on the pub is drinking Fosters Beer. Can I just point out now, on behalf of Australia (I did spend most of my life there), that Fosters is crap and no Australian ever drinks it, ever. Sadly, it’s the beer Australia exports to the world so it’s what people imagine Aussie beer to be like. I promise you, real Aussie beer is much better than this.

Back in Helsingborg, Sweden, waiting for our last train back home, we found this pub called Pitchers just near the station. It was nice and cosy, the shelves were lined with books, and it had an interesting age policy - nobody under 23 was allowed in. I suspect they push this rule more on weekends, but the old man inside of me kind of likes it. If I ever opened a pub it would look something like this.

Back in Helsingborg, Sweden, waiting for our last train back home, we found this pub called Pitchers just near the station. It was nice and cosy, the shelves were lined with books, and it had an interesting age policy – nobody under 23 was allowed in. I suspect they push this rule more on weekends, but the old man inside of me kind of likes it. If I ever opened a pub it would look something like this.

And that about wraps up our day in Copenhagen, my second visit to the wonderful capital city of Denmark. I will definitely return there – I have a lot more of the place left to explore and it is also my closest capital city (Stockholm, Sweden’s capital, is about three times as far away from here).

If you have any experiences in Copenhagen or Denmark you’d like to share, I’d love to hear about them in the comments below!

What do you think?

