Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

This week’s topic for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish, is Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces Of Art. Interestingly, when the theme was Top Ten Covers You’d Change back in November last year I could only find one so I changed the topicย to my favourite covers for that week.

BUT my favourite covers don’t automatically translate as covers I’d frame as art. For example, if you look at that post I did here, you’ll see that one of the covers was a biography of Billy Connolly that featured him with his purple facial hair pulling a face on the front – a great cover, a hilarious photo capturing the sort of person he can be, but not something I would consider in my ten favourite artistic covers, so to speak. So some of these covers will be from that list, but some will be different.

Onwards we go – I won’t explain the covers because they’re fairly self explanatory I should think. Enjoy, and I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments as always!

The Cat's Table

 

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Life of Python

Captain Corelli's Mandolin

The Gourmet

 

This Day In Music

Ghost Colonies

Vanished Kingdoms

Poetry for the Spirit

The Alchemist

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

  1. I hesitate over the Python one but I would agree with the others, of course books on the shelf are very decorative, I have a couple of shelves of Terry Pratchett’s with the British overs and they look lovely even though all you can really see are the spines.

    • Haha I guess some of them will always come down to personal taste, too. Some of Terry Pratchett’s covers are very cool, I considered adding some of his. I probably could have done a top twenty list quite easily for this topic ๐Ÿ˜› But it is nice to have good artwork on books – adds another reason to collect the real thing, rather than turn entirely to e-books. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yeah, I really like that Vanished Kingdoms book – they clearly went to a lot of effort to make it appealing (even though the topic itself is really quite appealing, at least to history nerds such as myself). I plan on one day having a house big enough to turn a room into a mini-library of sorts – it’s not as common these days but I just think it would be so nice to have something like that.

    • Thanks, I think the Vanished Kingdoms one is one of my favourites too. I like the This Day In Music one just because it captures the feel of the book so well (it kind of looks like that on a lot of the pages, just a jumble of pictures and awesome facts and things). ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

