Top Ten Tuesday: Books About Friendship

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish, and this week the theme is books about friendship. So let’s get stuck into it!

  1. Of Mice And Men by John Steinbeck: This classic novella, about the friendship between two migrant ranch workers who struggle to find work and make a living during the Great Depression, is the ultimate book about friendship. A slightly depressing ending, but brilliant all the same.
  2. Breath by Tim Winton: This novel about surfing and risk taking might be a strange one to suggest, but it does explore how friendships, while young, lead to peer pressure, and how the way we give into peer pressure and take risks for friends as well as ourselves can define who we become.
  3. The Cat’s Table by Michael Ondaatje: Another odd one, Ondaatje is better known for novels like The English Patient. This novel, though, is set entirely on a ship and the friendship between three young boys travelling on it alone. A touching and sweet novel.
  4. Lord Of The Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien: I think it goes without saying that the bonds of friendship are absolutely vital in this story for the heroes to succeed in their quest. Often these same friendships end up saving various characters, too.
  5. Anything by John Green: All of Green’s books explore friendship on some level, usually friendship during the teenage years. I couldn’t choose one book by him over any other.
  6. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: The friendship between young German girl Liesel and the Jewish Max, during Nazi Germany, is one of the most touching friendships in any book ever. Portrayed well in the movie, you really need to read the book to fully appreciate this.
  7. The Jeeves and Wooster series by P. G. Wodehouse: Sure, Jeeves might be bumbling aristocrat Bertie Wooster’s butler. But he is fiercely loyal throughout this series, even when it seems like he’s not, and he knows Wooster like nobody else. Friendship manifests itself in many forms, as these books prove.
  8. Tomorrow When The War Began by John Marsden: This classic Australian series of novels (apparently a second movie is in the works) is about a group of teenagers who must stay united when they return to their town from a camping trip to find the whole country has been invaded. Quite literally their friendship is all they have left.
  9. Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom: This wonderful piece of non-fiction about the time Albom spent with an old professor of his, Morrie, during Morrie’s dying days, is a perfect depiction of a more unusual type of friendship. Despite not corresponding with one another for over 16 years, their eventual friendship had a profound effect on Albom.
  10. Red Dog byย Louis de Berniรจres: You know the saying, dog is a man’s best friend. This book was based on tales of a real dog who lived in Western Australia and was known by a massive community as it floated from home to home on various adventures. The movie adaptation was quite sweet, too.

What books about friendship are among your favourites?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books About Friendship

  1. I haven’t read most of these, but I feel like I need to face palm myself for not thinking of ‘Of Mice and Men’. I remember crying during my English class in high school. Beyond a shadow of a doubt best friendship. Thanks for giving some new titles to look into! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hahaha, yeah, I was tempted at first to only write about Of Mice and Men but then I realised I was being lazy and took to Goodreads so I could properly trowel through my books list and find 10 for this. I wish I was taught this in High School, I didn’t read any Steinbeck in school – I don’t think it’s taught much these days in Aussie schools at least. Which is a shame. Hope you like some of the other titles then if you do look into them more! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Of Mice and Men was my number 11, I really wanted to include it but it didn’t make he Top Ten. It’s such a wonderful story of how far a friend will go for another.

  3. Two more to consider. 1 – The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay; 2 – The Book Thief. Both great, highly acclaimed books with friendship in focus. Thanks for the list. Fun stuff. Joel

    • I have heard a lot of good things about The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, actually, so that one is definitely going on my to-read list. And I think I included The Book Thief on this list didn’t I? I’m sure I did. Besides that author, Markus Zusak, is from my old stomping ground – Sydney, Australia. If you read his other main novel, you can tell haha. Thanks for the recommendation! ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

