Who signed me up to Camp NaNoWriMo again? Oh, me.

2014 Camp Nano-Participant-Vertical-BannerI really enjoyed Camp NaNoWriMo in April, as I wrote 30 000 words across 6 short stories and finally created a collection of humorous stories which were actually vaguely funny. It was exhausting but I thoroughly enjoyed writing them and I promised myself if time permitted I would continue them in July, or at least write more short stories of some kind (that might not be connected to the April ones).

It’s the last week of June now. I’ve committed myself to several things that are going to keep me quite busy these next couple of months. I am also going on a road trip for a couple of weeks across Sweden in the middle of July. All signs are pointing toward the fact that July is really quite booked up, and I definitely don’t have time for another 30 000 words of frantic short story writing.

So anyway I signed up this afternoon and I feel like I should be suffering from some kind of pre-apocalyptic fear of “what have I done”-itis but here I am feeling remarkably calm, as I always am before undergoing some intense writing challenge. I think I had so much fun last time that I just want to experience that again, though I know I am swimming in dangerous waters here and having an expectation like that might lead to disappointment. But it might not. And I want to find out, I guess.

So the only thing I have left to decide is this – do I continue with the stories I was really enjoying writing (where each story had new characters but the setting and general premise was the same, and all were connected by a few specific characters) or do I just try something entirely new to see where my mind takes me?

Did any of you participate in the April Camp and are also taking part in the July one? What is your approach this time around?

Oh, and if you’re interested in participating in this crazy challenge (you can choose the word goal and type of writing yourself), go visit the Camp NaNoWriMo site here for more information! If you love writing and have never tried this kind of challenge before, this might just be for you!

8 thoughts on “Who signed me up to Camp NaNoWriMo again? Oh, me.

  1. I missed Camp NaNoWriMo in April – somehow totally forgot about it. So I am hugely excited for July. Always glad to bump into other WriMo’s in the blogosphere!

    • There’s quite a few of us in the blogosphere who also NaNo but there seem to be less than there was a couple of years ago. Or at least it seems that way haha. Good luck in July then – what are you writing for it?

      • I noticed things seem a little quiet on the NaNo-Blogging front. Ah well, more space for me! 😛
        I’m working on a sequel to this ANCIENT NaNo novel I did back in 2008 and only recently got around to editing and posting to Wattpad here: http://www.wattpad.com/56019176-the-haven-chapter-1 Pretty off-the-deepend, clichéd fantasy stuff about a guy searching for ways to cheat death (LOL). Very NaNo-ish!

        There’s definitely something comforting about going back to an old story, or story world. I consider my first, and some other early work, to be sort of like a playground. Who knows if they will ever be up to standard. But I always have a soft spot for them, so as I write new and better things I always come back to try out the new skills on my old projects.

        But don’t listen to me! I’m always a Rebel for NaNoWriMo. I usually work on something that’s not 100% new. (shhhh!)

        • This is true – more traffic for those of us who do blog about NaNo. I guess sometimes if you’ve done a few NaNos while blogging it can feel like you’re saying the same thing in your blog posts, but sometimes that’s not a bad thing – especially if you are giving advice and tips and things. Besides, the bulk of regular readers on WordPress is forever changing!
          Haha that story sounds very NaNoish but it sounds fun both to read and a lot of fun to write – sometimes writing that sort of thing is good because you can have less barriers to restrict you. Kind of like why I’ve been pushing myself to get better at humorous writing, because I can lift a lot of restrictions when I’m just being silly by doing what the reader doesn’t expect on purpose!
          I like your approach to your old stories though – I think I can learn from that. I don’t go anywhere near my old stories normally. I have a novel from 2011 that I have promised myself to edit and rewrite because it was actually half-decent, but the only other old story I’m really keen to revisit is an old short story from about 2006 about musical hallucinations, because I want to see how much that might change if I rewrite entirely now after so long. But maybe I should go and have fun with that dystopian fantasy from 2009, or the historical from 2010. Or the robot story from 1996 (I was like 9 or 10). 😛
          And hey, there’s nothing wrong with reworking old stuff for NaNoWriMo – I think if it gets you writing that’s the main goal, right? 🙂

  2. I’ve done Camp Nano for the first time in April ! It have been a wonderful experience, and I can’t wait for July 😀 I have to study hard for September, and I am writing my graduation thesis but I will try nonetheless … Good luck and good trip !! I wish I was there in Sweden, too *—* !!

    • Ahh good to hear you had such a good experience in April – I hope you enjoy it in July then! Good luck – it’s hard when you have other study to do, but then it can also provide your brain with a nice break from that sort of thing sometimes too! 🙂

  3. Good luck! I’ve done both Camp NaNoWriMo and NaNoWriMo in the past, but the couple of days before are always a little scary. I hope you continue to write about it.

    • They can be, especially when you don’t know what you’re going to write. But then I often don’t figure out what I’m trying to write until a few days into the whole thing anyway. I guess my mind just works in odd ways. But yes I will try to update about it through the month. 🙂

What do you think?

