Teaser Tuesdays – More Fool Me

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme hosted at Should Be Reading. To get involved, all you need to do is take the book you’re currently reading, open it to a random page and share two sentences from that page. No spoilers, of course.

More Fool Me A MemoirThis week my sentences come from More Fool Me, the third memoir of Stephen Fry. Yes, the third. Those who don’t know who Fry is probably don’t live in Britain (or Australia, to be honest) as he is constantly on television as the host of QI, presenter of various documentaries, comedian in classic comedies Blackadder, A Bit of Fry & Laurie and Jeeves and Wooster as well as writer of several novels and other books. He also does movies from time to time, most recently playing the rather gross mayor in the second and third Hobbit movies.

Anyway, back to the book. His first memoir, Moab Is My Washpot, focused on his childhood years. His second, The Fry Chronicles, looked at his years in Cambridge and his entry in the 1980s into the world of comedy and entertainment. This memoir, then, focuses on the aftermath of that – a period of Fry’s life altogether darker and more dangerous than he had lived before. Without further ado, here are my sentences:

  1. “As well as writing the official club rules I also coined one evening in the late eighties the ‘Groucho Rule’, which states that any remark, apophthegm, epigram, aphorism or observation, be it never so wise, well intentioned, profound or true, is instantly rendered ridiculous and nonsensical by the addition of the phrase ‘he said last night in the Groucho Club.'”
  2. “Every time I saw somebody in a restaurant rising from their table and moving towards the gents or the ladies I assumed they were off for an energising sniff.”

There we have it! So what are your teasers for today, if you’re participating? What are your thoughts on this teaser?

4 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays – More Fool Me

  1. I saw you do this last week and thought, hmm, I’m going to do that. So I’m off to do it now! I’m reading three books at the moment – not sure which one to pick!

  2. I’m a hug Stephen Fry fan and have his poetry book The Ode less Travelled. It’s the only “how to” book on writing that I have and it is really useful and it’s fun.

    • Ahh yes, I love that book. He explains the poetic forms so well and so clearly, and I find his enthusiasm for writing in poetic forms is very contagious. I used to help me write a bunch of blog posts on poetic forms back in 2012, actually, just to make sure I got the rules right.

What do you think?

