NaPoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo looms once more…

Oops. It appears I have not blogged in nearly six weeks, which is pretty bad even for me. BUT I do have a very good reason that I will be able to share with you all in a couple more weeks’ time. Until then, however, I shall keep my lips sealed (although some of you know already what it is and long-time followers could probably take an educated guess at what my news is).

This important event of which I cannot speak has sapped my time elsewhere too – I have barely read anything these past weeks (luckily I have some long flights coming up soonish that will give me time to knock out a few books). I have been working hard on my diet, playing with new recipes and working out as much as possible, but otherwise my mind and energy has been entirely focused elsewhere. I’ve considered blogging about all sorts of things, and the second half of that story that I said I would published “next week” I did begin the next week, but it sits half finished in my drafts folder.

napo2015button2Despite all of this, I know I still seem to work with deadlines for some reason. So, I am probably at the very last minute going to commit myself to NaPoWriMo (the poetry writing month thing where you write a poem a day) AND Camp NaNoWriMo (the smaller, flexible Camp-Participant-2015-Square-Buttonversion of National Novel Writing Month where you can write whatever you darn well please in a month and choose your own word count). The month of April is going to be a month filled with lots of different emotions, and it is such a beautiful month up here in Sweden, so writing poetry will be easy as inspiration abounds. As for Camp NaNoWriMo, I think I will return to short stories but I will keep the word goal much lower this time – no more than 20 000 I think.

I will try to blog a little during April, but my responses and things might be a little slow. But once you know of my news you will probably also understand why – I hope so at least. I can say that somewhere around late May my life will return to some sense of normality (only a better normality) and my blogging may regain an actual routine. Or it won’t. We’ll see.

Anyway, who among you, dear readers, is attempting either of these two writing events? I’d love to know so we can annoy encourage one another during this time – I’m always very active on Twitter during these crazy writing months and am always happy to add fellow writers.

If you’d like to know more about either event, visit their websites here:

Camp NaNoWriMo
NaPoWriMo

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo and Camp NaNoWriMo looms once more…

    • Oh, how naive I was two months ago when I wrote this. I never had a chance at either of these writing thingos, not with the whole getting married halfway through April thing. Bah, even I have my limits! 😛
      But yes, I will probably do the July camp nano. But I’m not locking even that in until closer to July. I’m even questioning the November one at the moment, as I have some big changes in my life later this year by the looks of things (I feel like this is all I’ve said for 2 years straight now…one day I might stop and be normal for a while).

What do you think?

