The Coffee Machine

When I moved into my new home in Sweden, I pretty quickly went out to the shops (including the biggest shop I’ve ever been into, Ullared – but that’s another post on its own) to buy all the things I really need, like kitchen utensils, basics for my pantry, snowpants and…uh…a coffee machine. What? It’s a necessity, okay?

The totally-worth-it-coffee-machine.

So anyway, it’s a Nescafé Dolce Gusto, a machine that works with those little pods that you put into it and it does everything else for you. Well, I mean, you have to put water in the back, and change the size of the drink to suit your needs and wants and the rough guidelines of each type of coffee you can make, but otherwise you don’t do much. It can make all your standard coffee drinks, plus different flavours of some (there’s more than one caramel flavoured drink), hot chocolates – it even makes tea (though I find myself reluctant to try that). Not only that, but the thing is fast – it’s warmed up and ready to go within about 30 seconds, so basically you can have a decent coffee in under a minute, all with the press of a couple of buttons. See, totally worth it and necessary, right?**

Here’s my favourite three drinks I like to make with it at the moment:

  1. CappuccinoThe Cappuccino – a classic coffee, I have already gone through nearly two boxes of pods for this one (and frankly I need to slow down). It’s tasty and warming on these cold winter days, and my only real complaint about it is that it’s a bit weak – this is easily fixed up by adding an espresso shot to it, but then you’re using a third pod and those pods aren’t super cheap.
  2. ChococinoThe Chococino – I’m 99% sure this has no coffee or caffeine in it – it’s just a really intense, well made hot chocolate. It feels like you’ve been punched in the face, only with a chocolate fist, and not so much punched as gently caressed and…is this getting weird? I think this is getting weird. Anyway, chocoholics will love this. Non-chocoholics will probably also enjoy this. Chocolate haters will be sad and jealous of this.
  3. Caramel Espresso and NesquikHot Nesquik mixed with a Caramel Espresso shot – the Nesquik hot chocolate flavour isn’t as good as the Chococino, but it does only use one pod to make each drink, instead of two, so it is cheaper. But I find sometimes, especially in the afternoon, I feel like hot chocolate and coffee at the same time and I’ve found this particular combination is great. It’s tasty but also perks you up very quickly. Yes, I was drinking one while writing this. Yes, I am considering a second one.

I still have instant coffee because I just can’t afford to drink this stuff all the time (at least not until I’ve landed stable work), but it is nice and I don’t regret buying it at all. It’s great for guests, or for when I just want something a little bit nicer, and it’s the perfect accompaniment to sitting down at my laptop and writing for a while.

Do you have any kind of coffee machine at home? If so, what kind of machine? What are your thoughts on these pod-based machines?

**I think I should be paid for such generous marketing of this product.

12 thoughts on “The Coffee Machine

  1. I’ve seen these and I swear they are designed to look like little creatures. I must admit when I first saw them I thought that maybe they would be a flash in the pan and then you wouldn’t be able to get the pods for them but they seem to have taken off so – enjoy – and yes of course it was essential. !

    • Hahaha I’d never thought of them that way before but I do see what you mean. I was the same as well when they were first released, I was cautious of buying something which would become useless in a year or two. But they seem to be quite popular here – the pods occupy possibly more shelf space in the shops than instant coffee. Swedes do love their coffee though (one of the few ways I do fit in here already). 🙂

  2. I have only a hot pot for heating up water for tea and instant cocoa. A gourmand I am not. I don’t know if I would want a mini-R2D2 in the kitchen. It might make the toaster nervous.

    • Hahaha mini-R2D2, I like it! It’s funny how everybody seems to see it in different ways, I didn’t even consider it’s sort of odd looking until I started reading some of these comments. In my mind it’s just the magic coffee machine and that’s it!
      I do have a kettle as well for just instant coffee and tea, and I should buy some cocoa for hot chocolates because those chococinos don’t last very long at all. 😛

  3. I think there isn’t a person, here in Italy, without a moka or a coffee machine. I have both of them : I must drink a cappuccino, or a macchiato, at least twice a day, for it to be a good day!
    I think Bialetti is the best of the best, but also Lavazza and Nescafè are very good 🙂
    ps : your words made me desire another cup, right now !

    • I think I’ll like Italy a lot – you guys love coffee and have amazing wine. How have I not been there yet? At least now Italy is only a couple of thousand kilometres away, now I’m in Sweden, as where back in Australia it would have been closer to 15000 kilometres haha. 😛

      • Oh, yes ! 🙂 Europe has a lot of amazing places, beautiful cities, and Italy, well, is my dear home : I love this nation, politicians apart XP XD ❤ On the other hand, now I envy you a little, because visit Sweden is one of my dream, and Australia,too, has so much charm … ** Thanks for sharing your experience on your blog **

        • Hahaha yeah, unfortunately terrible politicians and absurd politics are pretty hard to avoid. But at least in our countries we’re relatively safe! 😉
          Thank you for reading. I’ll have more coming soon, I’d imagine. I’m a bit slow on the blogging front this month.

What do you think?

